PDA

View Full Version : Finally got the game to go super SMOOTH as glass



hirad
7th Dec 2003, 04:48
well finally i manage to get the game working and go super smooth in 1024 X 786 with 4x multisampling. the trick is to put the dx2.exe in windows 2000 compability mode this has only been tested for windows Xp user though. He he he hope its working for all u frustrated fans of deus ex 2 :)

hirad
7th Dec 2003, 05:09
hmm i forgot my comp spec is:

amd xp 2600+
768 mb ram
geforce fx 5600 with 128 mb mem
sb audigy player
directx 9.0 installed

ABRAXAAS
7th Dec 2003, 05:09
how do i do this?

hirad
7th Dec 2003, 05:14
ABRAXAAS :

well to put the dx2.exe in win 2000 compatibily mode just right click on the file and u should see the option there if u look closely

ABRAXAAS
7th Dec 2003, 05:17
yeah i already found it lol

hirad
7th Dec 2003, 05:19
hehe good try it out u will be surprise :)

Kyrandos
7th Dec 2003, 05:40
Well, it did little to nothing for my FPS, still averaging about 15-20.

However, it no longer drops to desktop, then pops up the game again every time I load a level. That's kinda nice.

Dunkerque
7th Dec 2003, 07:17
OMG

I cannot thank you enough for this one. DRAMATIC increase ! I can play at 800x600 with all to medium and 2x FSAA on my crappy machine without the back to desktop bug each time a level loads.

Thank you a lot for this one, really appreciate !

My specs suck but DX was too good for me to miss it :

1.333 Ghz Athlon
512 Ram
GeForce 3 Ti 200 64 Mb

Now I can play it fine without too much lag and with "decent" graphics. Real pleasure !

GrassRoots
7th Dec 2003, 08:15
This definetely fixed the loading glitch, but I can't seem to tell a difference performance-wise. I followed all of the recommended default.ini tweaks and it runs nice and smooth for me at 800x600.

ABRAXAAS
7th Dec 2003, 10:34
deffinatley runs way smoother now I LOVE THIS GAME ITS SO MUCH FUN!

hirad
7th Dec 2003, 12:03
hmm well the game was lagging very much for when i played it at first, then i mean very laggy. my average fps r around 60 after the trick and i tried playing in 1280X1024 and the game still goes quite smoothly. Donno why u guys performence hasnt improve but the loading glicht is fixed yeah never though of metion it :) but still the games performance increased quite much for me :)

Johannes
7th Dec 2003, 16:23
Yeah! This definetly helped! No more crashes and got quite a perormance boost as well. Still getting low fps now and again but this did indeed help alot!

Cheers for this one!

Trulok
7th Dec 2003, 22:47
what if Im running windows 2000? I don't see it.

3.0ghz P4 overclocked to a 3400+
1gig DDR ram
geforce 4 ti4600

I can run the game fine at 640-480 full graphics but no higher ><

hirad
8th Dec 2003, 10:37
Trulok

Like i said in my first post this has only been tested on win Xp users so i have no clue how it works for other OS. And if u got win 2000 then another sulution must be out there :)

DivineRight
8th Dec 2003, 20:11
Thanks man, this really helped with CTD everytime I would load the game or load a level.

CHEERS :D

Burnz
9th Dec 2003, 05:00
Didn't seem to do anything for performance to me (I'm using XP pro).

It DID fix the problem with the game minimizing itself everytime I loaded a game, which is nice.

Wierd.

BoomStick
9th Dec 2003, 05:58
No joy here.
There should be a "X-Box" or "Console" compatability mode available for us suckers who bought the game.


AMD 2400
Windows XP SP1
384mb ram
GeForce 4 Ti4800 SE 128mb

With ALL updated drivers.

irishbloke
18th Mar 2004, 22:34
Originally posted by BoomStick
No joy here.
There should be a "X-Box" or "Console" compatability mode available for us suckers who bought the game.


AMD 2400
Windows XP SP1
384mb ram
GeForce 4 Ti4800 SE 128mb

With ALL updated drivers.

u said it m8!:)

irishbloke
19th Mar 2004, 23:06
Originally posted by hirad
well finally i manage to get the game working and go super smooth in 1024 X 786 with 4x multisampling. the trick is to put the dx2.exe in windows 2000 compability mode this has only been tested for windows Xp user though. He he he hope its working for all u frustrated fans of deus ex 2 :)

omf i have identical pc specs yto you and same gfx card?
but i cant play at that res..

can u post all teh settings for ur gfx card (i have the same one)
and the driver version please m8!

ShaggyMonkey
22nd Mar 2004, 01:31
Wow! weird... thanks :D

LiveWire
22nd Mar 2004, 08:30
nope no difference here:

1280*960
full effects
average 24 - 15 fps depending on what's on sceen

no different under XP or Win2000

i've never had the dropping to desktop problem

my system:
2100XP
768 MB
RADION 9700
Sound Blaster Live!
DirectX 9.0b