PDA

View Full Version : Choppy Gameplay



Tahiro
5th Dec 2003, 19:03
CPU: Intel P4 3.0 GHZ
Memory: 1024 DDRAM (Dual Channel)
GFX: Nvidia Geforce FX 5900 Ultra
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 eX

As you can see above my hardware is quite powerful, and Deus Ex 2 runs choppy which makes it unplayable. Turning off certain video options doesn`t do anything which tells me it is not my hardware it is the GAME itself.

The same problem Deus Ex 1 had upon launch.
The sound is making cluttering noises as well sometimes.

Seeing threads below every other user has these problems.
Even the default.ini which where you option settings get saved is Copy Protected so you have to UN Protect it before the saving actually GETS saved. This is not a normal user would know how to do .

I am not impressed by this title, it is unplayable to say the least.

mordanda
5th Dec 2003, 19:46
I too am having the same issue, The game is completely unplayable at 1024x768. 5fps or lower in the starting apartment and all the computer has to render is a ceiling fan and light/shadow routines, forget actually having another character in there with you. I have pratically the same system

P4 3.0C HT enabled
1024 DDR333 in Dual Channel Mode
BFG GFX 5900
SB Audigy 2
120 GB SATA HD (50GB Free)

There isn't even a reason I should have to run this at 1024x768. This should run at 1280x1024 on my system. What's even more curious is that this title sided up with Nvidia in the great FPS divide (with Doom 3 staying mostly neutral and HL2 going to bed with ATI) But what the message seems to be is The game won't run on ATI hardware with certain drivers, but will run unacceptably slow on all Nvidia stuff.

This is disappointing to say the least, but I have other things to play and will do so, anyone looking of an awesome action game should pick up LucasArts' Armed and Dangerous (Released on the same day as DX2, runs at 1280x1024 just fine) The game is fun and laugh out loud funny. I hope they get around to patching this soon.

Meteor_of_War
5th Dec 2003, 19:51
...or my system is just the balls.

AthlonXP 3000+ @2.1GHz
ATI 9800 Pro 128mb 3.7 Catalyst
Asus nforce2 A7N8X Deluxe 2.0
2x512mb of Corsair pc3200 DDR RAM
WindowsXP Pro

and i swear DX2 appears to never drop below 30 fps for me @ 1024x768 and high details.

Tahiro
5th Dec 2003, 19:54
Hmm maybe it is a driver issue ?

Anyone with nVIDIA cards tested with older drivers or maybe the Forceware drivers ?

Meteor_of_War
5th Dec 2003, 19:59
I do believe the readme file specifically says to run this game with the latest drivers for best performance.

DXman
5th Dec 2003, 20:14
Im running on this

Pentium 4 2.0ghz
2x512mb DDR pc2100 Kingston and Corsair
Ati Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb DDR Catalyst 3.7
Windows XP Pro

So far, the game runs pretty decent. At certain locations, the frames are between 15-20 fps, but most of the time it's above 30fps.

Tahiro
5th Dec 2003, 20:33
It seems ATi users can play it normally with the 3.7 drivers which is pretty old. The readme says use either 3.7 or 3.9 but for Nvidia use the newest .

hmm

DXman
5th Dec 2003, 20:36
In my opinion, Ati's catalyst 3.7 is the best. The others after 3.7 are just terrible and buggy. Dont know what's up with nvidia drivers.

cleric
5th Dec 2003, 20:41
guys.. look at the other posts.. do a little research first

you'll see that many are having these problems. it's a problem with the game.

wait for patches.. check the other developer sites forums. there are little tweaks you can do to help a little, but overall, it looks like they just released a game that wasn't ready