PDA

View Full Version : AutoAim doesn't seem to be working

timekiller
29th Nov 2003, 03:42
I'm new to the GameCube (been all PC games till now). I bought one for my kids & decided to try a couple of games for myself.

I got Metroid Prime & TimeSplitters 2. In Metroid Prime, the autoaim functions as expected - aim in the direction of the bad guy, hit aim & BOOM! But in TimeSplitters 2, it doesn't seem to do anything. In Story mode with autoaim on, I turn my weapon in the direction of the bad guy, hit aim, & instead on locking on to the target, it just gives a screen with recticles in the exact spot my weapon was pointing and I have to manually adjust the aim. In other words it doesn't "lock" on the target.

Am I missing something? Does it not work in Story mode (haven't tried the other modes yet) or is there something else I need to do. Auotaim is enabled in Options.

Also, the aim control (C Stick) seems to be real loose. Whenever I try to aim with it (autoaim on or off), it just seems to jump, no fine control.

Again I'm new to console gaming so maybe it's just the way controls work, but this seems to be fine in Metroid.

Any help would be appreciated.

robofishzombie
29th Nov 2003, 04:47
Auto aim works when the aiming sight is off only. Don't hit aim, and it should work.

timekiller
29th Nov 2003, 05:45
Hey, Robo, thx for the quick reply. I tried your suggestion but it still doesn't seem to do anything. Could you please explain exactly how to shoot someone with autoaim? The exact steps? When I point the pistol toward the target, I still have to move around to get a good shot. I thought autoaim was supposed to detect the target & lock onfor you? I must still be missing something.

Thx again.

Captin Snow
29th Nov 2003, 06:08