PDA

View Full Version : 2ghz+, Geforce 4 ti, laggy? why?!?



eyeronik
23rd Nov 2003, 13:12
I have tried looking through about 50 posts but do not really know what to search for and I can see the usual "update drivers" solutions.

I have an althon 2400+, 832mb, Geforce 4 ti4200 128mb. The game is laggy as hell in 800x600 and 1024x768, I can only run it in 640x480, where it looks awful. It doesn't exactly look cutting edge in 1024x768, or at least not better than say splinter cell, which ran on my pc fine on full. Max Payne 2, Bf1942, UT2003, MOHAA all on 1024x768 on full work excellantly. So why does deus ex 2 not work properly? I have tried the 42. drivers and the 52.16 or whatever it is now, no difference. I am most dissapointed and I bet they do not fix this come full release, I cannot just buy the game in the hope it works okay, it surely should run on 1024 at something like 40fps or even 30 would be fine, oh well, another bugged pc game...

gord
23rd Nov 2003, 13:20
the bloom option makes the game look aweful, well it did on mine, turning that off, deblurred everything.......mmm

mind you, this does have a detremental effect on your computers frame rate....(makes it worse)

try puttin the character, lighting etc on medium, and having 1 multisampling......or Anti Aliasing, as it is more commonly known

Frost Giant
23rd Nov 2003, 13:26
Wow. I don't know what to tell you because you exceed the minimum requirements with flying colors. Well all I can think of is that you should try to sell your current video card and get the ATI Rdeon 9600, 9600 pro, or 9600 XT. There are some people in these forums including myself who have one of these cards. I have read no complaints about them so that's all I can recommend at the moment. BTW, your situation would really irritate me seing as you've meet and surpassed all the minimum requirements.

gord
23rd Nov 2003, 13:32
also check ur display control panel, maybe lower some settings there

btw, the game has an Nvidia logo at the start up which means its probably been optimised better for Nvidia hardware, so i dont know if u want to invest in a radeon card if u plan to play Deus Ex 2 ???

u probably should though, radeons are the best

and, if its any help, my it is a bit slow on my system too
Amd 64 3200+
1Gb Kingston HyperX
Radeon 9700 pro, cat 3.9s
hercules Fort 3 sound
1280*1024, 2 times AA, 4 times AF

jaywalker2309
23rd Nov 2003, 13:33
The GeForce 4ti 4200 is the lowest spec GF4 you can get, its fill rate is not amazing, this game eats fill rate for breakfast.

Pooeypants
23rd Nov 2003, 13:36
The ti4200 is fine for now, don't let ppl make you think otherwise.
I've got xp2600 (2.083Ghz), 512MB PC2700 ram, Radeon 9600Pro and with 1024x768 I get av 20fps...yes 20fps with low details and *****. This game has a worst engine than Morrowind when it comes drawing frames.

gord
23rd Nov 2003, 13:43
how do u get up the fps?

Pooeypants
23rd Nov 2003, 13:56
Originally posted by gord
how do u get up the fps?
They've disabled the console. You'll need to download Fraps. Do a google search, it's useful for other games as well.

eyeronik
23rd Nov 2003, 14:58
Well considering I can run what I think are better looking games okay, I don't fancy getting a new card for one game, if they have made it so it doesn't run on machines like mine I think they have made a mistake because it isn't exactly the worst machine ever and many people have this card. I'll just have to give the game a miss until I update sometime

tas42
23rd Nov 2003, 15:07
seems kind of odd. i;m using a GF4ti4200 and can run it at 1024x768 with 4x multisampling perfectly fine. i can run at max res but it gets a little jerky. this is the problem with pc games. there are some many things in you computer that effect stuff like this.

Xcom
23rd Nov 2003, 15:22
Have 128 mb GF4ti4200 as well.. Have the same thing as eyeronik. I get like 5-10fps in 1024x768, so playing it in 800x600.

PellaeonSZ
23rd Nov 2003, 17:06
I have a Geforce Ti 4600, and the game ran semi-normally at 1024x768.

The best drivers for Geforce 4 tixx users are the 45.23's, especially the OMEGA versions. So get those if you can. The 53.03 (newest drivers) are also good, so check em out as well.

Elder
23rd Nov 2003, 17:27
Make sure AA and AF are turned OFF in your gfx card settings....right click your desk top/properties/settings/advanced/geforce(what ever card your have) tab/additional properties/antialaising settings( somthing like that i dont have geforce card) and turn off everthing related to AA and af or anti alasing(sp) and antistropic filtering...

if these were on while you tried the game turning them off will yeild a big performance gain....

Xcom
23rd Nov 2003, 17:52
Originally posted by Elder
if these were on while you tried the game turning them off will yeild a big performance gain....

'Big' is slightly exaggerated, but definitely a gain. Good advice. Thanks.

nacr0mancer
23rd Nov 2003, 18:03
Dude the reason its alggy is because its an old ass build of a game, why do u think it has so meny bugs

Akito
23rd Nov 2003, 18:10
All game settings HIGH. No bloom. 800x600.

With everything enabled (8x anio, 4x aa, mipmap high) I was able to get about 5-15FPS.

Without AA or Anio filtering I was able to get about 20-45fps (outside and inside, respectively).

Increasing the resolution to 1024x768 = 10FPS loss (roughly).