PDA

View Full Version : So is my GeForce 4 Ti gonna get rocked or what?



coldblue
20th Nov 2003, 17:01
Everybody talks about how well DXIW will run on FX cards, but I've only got a GeForce 4 Ti 4400. Am I gonna be hurtin? Up until now, its been more than adequate for the games I've played. Even Max Payne 2 only stutters in smoky areas. Obviously, MP2 is not DXIW.

Any thoughts?

PointlesS
20th Nov 2003, 17:29
you may have to turn down some details but you'll be fine I think...

Random
20th Nov 2003, 17:32
It would be best to wait for the demo, because no one here has a clue. ;)

aquinasproject
20th Nov 2003, 19:38
Actually, If i remember right one of the polls showed most people currently have that card.


I bet Grey Mouser has tested that one specifically.

coldblue
20th Nov 2003, 20:29
I hope so, it's the way its meant to be played! ;)

Picasso
20th Nov 2003, 20:38
As I recall, they were aiming for a playable 30 fps on a GF3.

I have a Ti4200. I'm not expecting to be able to max all settings, but I think it'll run perfectly fine for both of us.

coldblue
20th Nov 2003, 22:00
The main reason I bring all this up (I'd always assumed the game would be playable on my card) is because all these really recent hands-on reviews have things like "ran a little jerky on my SGI Onyx2" or "got some low frame rates on my neural interface", and that had me worried. My hope is that these guys were all trying to run at 1600x1200 or somesuch.

OrioTecc
20th Nov 2003, 22:31
im not worried my TI4600 wont have the capacity...but im worried that i cant use all the neat dx9 features...

wilka91
20th Nov 2003, 22:37
Max Payne was very smooth on my computer, around 60 fps, BUT I didn't have any reflections in mirrors or water because my Ti4200 is a DX8 card :(

C-Tzar
20th Nov 2003, 22:45
*kisses massively overclocked AIW Radeon 9700 Pro* :D

wilka91
20th Nov 2003, 22:53
/evil_mode ON

kiss it well cuz it's gonna die soon, overclocked R9700's generally burn in less than a year ... I experienced it myself, as well as many 9700s owners I know.

/evil_mode OFF

lucky you :rolleyes:

Volition
20th Nov 2003, 22:58
I overclocked my Radeon 9700 earlier this year, and it's nearly burnt out. I'll still use it to play the demo, but this christmas, I'm gettin' a Radeon 9600 XT.

C-Tzar
20th Nov 2003, 22:58
Yeah, it's prolly gonna die any day now since I've had it almost a year, but it will have been great while it lasted. I'm gonna laugh and cry so hard at the same time if it dies just before IW is released. :p

Volition
20th Nov 2003, 23:03
Uh.. I wouldn't laugh, but maybe you're stronger than I am.

wilka91
20th Nov 2003, 23:04
Originally posted by Volition
I overclocked my Radeon 9700 earlier this year, and it's nearly burnt out. I'll still use it to play the demo, but this christmas, I'm gettin' a Radeon 9600 XT.

what for??? the 9600 xt is only almost as good as the radeon9500pro, and much slower than the 9700 series

Volition
20th Nov 2003, 23:09
Originally posted by wilka91
what for??? the 9600 xt is only almost as good as the radeon9500pro, and much slower than the 9700 series

I'm low on cash, my friend.

Meteor_of_War
20th Nov 2003, 23:12
From this (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21352) thread:

System Requirements

The minimum system requirements are as follows:

COMPUTER: IBM PC or 100% compatible
OPERATING SYSTEM: Microsoft™ Windows 98SE/2000/XP (95/NT not supported)
CPU: Intel Pentium® 4 1.3 GHz (or AMD Athlon ™ equivalent)
RAM: 256Mb
GRAPHICS: 100% DirectX 9.0 compatible 32 MB * (see below for support cards)
SOUND: Windows 98SE/2000/XP compatible Sound card (100% DirectX 9.x compatible)
CD-ROM: Quad-speed (4x) CD-ROM drive
HARD DRIVE: 2GB free disk space
INPUT DEVICES: 100% Windows 98SE/2000/XP mouse and keyboard


The recommended system requirements are as follows:

CPU: Intel Pentium® 4 1.5Ghz (or AMD Athlon™ equivalent)
RAM: 512 MB
GRAPHICS: 100% DirectX® 9.0 compatible 3D Card w/ 64 MB
SOUND: Windows 98SE/2000/XP compatible Sound card (100% DirectX® 9.x compatible)
CD-ROM: Eight-speed (8x) CD-ROM drive or faster.
HARD DRIVE: 2GB free disk space

* Supported Chipsets – nVidia GeForce 3Ti/4Ti/Fx (MX series not supported). Radeon 8500/9XXX or higher. (Pixel/Vertex shader required)

wilka91
20th Nov 2003, 23:27
and what is that for? If I believed those official system requirements, I'd expect all the latest games to run at 75FPS with maximum details and 1600*1200 resolution on my Ti4200 coupled with an AthlonXP 1800+. But it's just not the truth. The recommened system should be 2500+ CPU, Radeon 9700.

C-Tzar
20th Nov 2003, 23:29
Originally posted by Volition
Uh.. I wouldn't laugh, but maybe you're stronger than I am.

Nah, I'm just a huge fan of irony and it's bittersweet when I get bit by it. :p

PointlesS
20th Nov 2003, 23:50
take the recommended system requirements and make them the minimum then double them and you have the actual recommended system requirements...sure a 1.3ghz p4 with only 256megs of ram could play the game...but it's going to run so slow that the game can't even be enjoyed...

Meteor_of_War
21st Nov 2003, 02:02
Originally posted by wilka91
and what is that for? If I believed those official system requirements, I'd expect all the latest games to run at 75FPS with maximum details and 1600*1200 resolution on my Ti4200 coupled with an AthlonXP 1800+. But it's just not the truth. The recommened system should be 2500+ CPU, Radeon 9700.

Well RedLegg posted them in the thread i posted a link to in my first post. I'm new here but i think he's the admin? Anyways i think "recommended specs" for a game is quite relative considering 30 fps is good enough for some people while for other people 60 fps is the minimum they will play a first person shooter at.

Merovingi
21st Nov 2003, 02:40
I can't wait to test it out on my new Radeon 9600 Pro that I got yesterday :P

BIIIG difference from a GF3!

coldblue
21st Nov 2003, 05:15
Thanks everybody for making me feel so much better. :rolleyes:

Memphis42
21st Nov 2003, 05:40
I can run Halo PC with midrange settings just fine with my GF4 Ti 4400. You'll be fine.

[edit: GE4? hmm]

coldblue
23rd Nov 2003, 01:54
Um, I just wanted to go ahead and answer my own question for the benefit of other GeForce 4 Ti owners.

The demo runs fine with everything set high (not quite maxed). I had to play with settings for a while to get it exactly right. I'm still holding my breath for high-res textures though. *crosses fingers*

tas42
23rd Nov 2003, 02:23
Originally posted by coldblue
Um, I just wanted to go ahead and answer my own question for the benefit of other GeForce 4 Ti owners.

The demo runs fine with everything set high (not quite maxed). I had to play with settings for a while to get it exactly right. I'm still holding my breath for high-res textures though. *crosses fingers*

download the demo tweak, and it will run even better. ive got mine at 1024x 760 (or what ever the next to highest setting is) with 4x multisampling on a gf4 ti4200..........and its running perfect. before using the tweak i was able to play at that res, (ggoing to try it a max in a sec) but had to turn the sampling down to 2x. the tweak also fixes the gama, floating feeling, mose problems and many more. its almost like a different game. i cant help but wonder why the devs had the defalt settings set like they did :confused: