PDA

View Full Version : new to deus ex

lyra
8th Nov 2003, 02:44
hi everyone. im new to deus ex and started playing it 2 days ago.
i read a couple of threads here and people talk a lot about hacking. im currently at the rooftops (near the ending) and i still havent hacked even one machine. i dunno how. id really appreciate if if someone could tell me how....lol seriously i love this game but i do lotsa stupid things.
i dunno how i never noticed such a good game. oh well although its 2003 the game still lives on....good job ion storm... and ive pre-ordered deus ex TIW. if its as good as this one oh baby im not leaving the house this winter

DarkForge
8th Nov 2003, 11:11
Well your hacking skills are only going to be of use to you if you have sufficient skill points on your 'computers' skill. When you do, if you access a computer terminal, you should see a box in the top-right of the screen, saying "Ice Breaker Ready".

Clicking on that box lets you hack into the terminal for a limited amount of time (which varies depending on your skill level). So try looking at your skill points and seeing if you can afford to upgrade your computer skills. If you'd rather spend skill points on something else, then you may have to rely on the old username and password system.

PS: Bear in mind that you can only hack computer terminals, security computers and ATM machines. Disabling things like cameras, gun turrets and electronic panels rely on your multitools.

Hope that helps you. :)

Bio Denton
8th Nov 2003, 12:50
That might be a bit confusing for our trainee JC, Forge :P

Ok, if you see a camera, turret, etc, you CAN disable them with multitools, but EVERY turret, camera and even some bots are linked to control panels. Just hack the conrol panels to take control. Untrained: Can't hack. Trained: Can hack, but you'll get caught quickly. Advanced: You can hack for longer and more quickly and can take over turrets and bots. Master: Longer. Quicker.

lyra
8th Nov 2003, 15:09