PDA

View Full Version : Water & Underwater Graphics



Aquitaine
14th Jul 2003, 20:46
I don't know if this is actually a problem or not. I've played all the way through the game now, and though I spotted some of the bugs, nothing to stop me playing or wind me up too much. One thing I loved was the water - no more fogginess underwater ruining the lovely rooms, crystal clear water was back.

Then I saw the game running on a friend's PS2 - with foggy water like in previous games.

So, the question is - am I missing something? I have a Geforce 4 MX 420 graphics card, 2.4ghz pc. The game didn't even make it stutter. Is there a setting I should have enabled to see the murky water - more to the point, am I missing any other effects as well as this one? I saw gas, rain, etc, ok.

Not that I WANT murky water. In fact, if I'm not missing anything else, I'm happy to be rid of it. But it is a bit puzzling.

player2
14th Jul 2003, 21:07
some effects are Dx9 and to see them you need a dx9 card like gfFX or 9500 upwards. the effects are system taxing still but they are gorgeous ;)

check this thread (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33695800&perpage=20&pagenumber=4)

and this one (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33696440)

some screenies inside ,they were taken on a radeon 9700 .

Aquitaine
14th Jul 2003, 21:42
Ah, right - so basically, I am missing something, but short of a new graphics card I can't do anything about it. Well, so long as I know. The game still looks pretty damn good, and I like it better on my PC than my friend's PS2. Using a TV instead of a monitor sends his picture all...well, fuzzy. Does make me wish I'd shelled out a few more ££ for the better card, though. And there I was thinking I was being all clever just by not getting on-board graphics.

Thanks for the info, it was confusing me (not difficult, but there you go!).