PDA

View Full Version : begging !!PLEASE HELP!! begging



thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:14
Hi everyone,

I've just bought full-box version of Thief:The Dark project with manual and all others. I have Windows XP and the game goes smoothly, without any problems. As far as I know the basic version you get on the full CD is 1.14 (I have the same, because it appears at the bottom of my Thief autorun screen/panel). I have downloaded the Thief 1.33 update from Eidos' homepage, and tried to update my Thief. It patches some CRF files first, successfully. But when it reaches thief.exe it sais

Patching errors have occured

Old File not found. However, a file of the same name was
found. No update done since file contents do not
match.

the properties of my thief.exe:

size: 2 225 152
sfv: 68B0FF25

(If you wouldn't know!: SFV is a file verifier code. Every different file has a different sfv code, so it is useful to compare files with the same size. If the two file has the same sfv code than they are the same for sure. If the code is different, than they have differences. You can download Winsfv, that can tell a file's sfv code (the usage of it is simle) :
http://www.orbita.starmedia.com/~yolus/winsfv.exe )

So could you tell me that you have the same file that I have, by using Winsfv on your thief.exe (Please check D:\thief\thief.exe (where D is CDROM drive letter) not the one you have installed, becase it could have been changed by anything)

If someone has already updated his Thief to 1.33, than pleasy reply because it's sure you have the correct exe which may be different from mine.) IF THIS IS SO THAN WOULD YOU MIND SENDING YOUR THIEF.EXE FILE IN E-MAIL ATTACHMENT TO ME (packed if you can)?
E-MAIL: thefool@freemail.hu
THANK YOU!

Or may it be a problem that the update program is not working correctly under Windows XP? Well I don't think so, but if anybody knows about this anything, PLEASE REPLY, THANK YOU!

thanks for your patience
the fool

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 22:18
What country do you live in?
Where was the THIEF purchased?

I it was Europe or the UK then you probably have the PREMIER edition from EIDOS UK.

Go to [color=red]EDIT/DELETE/REWRITE: Sorry. Soldout software. I will look for a link. [/colro]and look for the 45 MB patch. The EIDOS USA patch will not work with the UK or GERMAN editions of THIEF.

Or those made by EIDOS International.

Good Luck.

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:23
I am European/Hungary.

And I have bought the game from my friend.
He bought it in Germany 3 years ago, however
the it's not German version!

Thanks for the info.
Gonna check the one you've recommended

the fool

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:30
Couldn't find any computer-related things here (soldout.com)
You sure it can be found there?

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 22:33
Originally posted by thefool
Couldn't find any computer-related things here (soldout.com)
You sure it can be found there?

Was told so by a UK resident who had the same problem a few days ago.

Try www.keepofmetalandgold.com

and try: http://thiefmissions.com/

and here: http://www.3dap.com/thief/t2/files/patches/

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:42
Originally posted by theBlackman
Was told so by a UK resident who had the same problem a few days ago.

Try www.keepofmetalandgold.com

and try: http://thiefmissions.com/

These sites only contain missions!
I've browsed them through.

Can't you accidently remember what or where was the solution for the UK member?

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 22:43
See new link above with the edited post.

http://www.3dap.com/thief/t2/files/patches/

Sorry wrong addy for SOLDOUT. I will look for a link.

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:48
Originally posted by theBlackman
See new link above with the edited post.

http://www.3dap.com/thief/t2/files/patches/

I am looking for THIEF:THE DARK PROJECT, not Metal Age,
however I checked this site for thief1 also, but it contains
the same 10.1 MB Eidos update

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 22:50
OOPPPS. Missed the DARK PROJECT. My eyeballs must have wandered. Apologies.:o

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 22:52
Originally posted by theBlackman
OOPPPS. Missed the DARK PROJECT. My eyeballs must have wandered. Apologies.:o

No problem. ;) but can you help pls :(

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 22:58
Originally posted by thefool
No problem. ;) but can you help pls :(

Will keep trying. I know there is a workable patch for your problem somewhere.

Am I correct in assuming that the program itself installed with no problem?

In XP you usually need to use a "Force run" routine. to get it installed.

See: http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=17314

Here is another link to try:
http://www.mseyre.freeserve.co.uk/

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 23:05
Originally posted by theBlackman
Will keep trying. I know there is a workable patch for your problem somewhere.

Am I correct in assuming that the program itself installed with no problem?

In XP you usually need to use a "Force run" routine. to get it installed.

See: http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=17314

The game has no problems. It runs perfectly (version 1.14) and under XP.
My only problem is that i cannot update it, because of the exe i have talking about.

I only need an exe file that is correct, and the update would work too. My exe is different from the one that the patch would update to 1.33, but as i said the game works.

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 23:09
Originally posted by theBlackman
Here is another link to try:
http://www.mseyre.freeserve.co.uk/

Neither any updates/patches her :(

But for e.g. could you update your Thief1 to 1.33?
If so than you must have a correct exe file, which i need!

amievil?
8th Jun 2003, 23:11
isnt 1.14 the platinum edition of tdp....if so then i had that once and didnt ever patch it. never had any problems with it. if you mean the tgold patch that would allow you to play tgold missions, try www.thief-thecircle.com/dromed

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 23:12
Originally posted by thefool
The game has no problems. It runs perfectly (version 1.14) and under XP.
My only problem is that i cannot update it, because of the exe i have talking about.

I only need an exe file that is correct, and the update would work too. My exe is different from the one that the patch would update to 1.33, but as i said the game works.

If the EXE does not work. You need the correct patch. None of the USA patches will work. I know there is a UK and European patch. For the UK it is called the PREMIER update patch or something like that.

This is the patch you need. Still looking through my sources but have sent some HELP calls out. Hopefully someone will come up with something.

In the mean time, the patch takes care of a few minor bugs and changes some AI quirks and locations but none of this is a big deal in playing the game.

Just do QS often to have a restart area, and play.

If I find the patch, or if someone else does, good. But don't let not having the patch prevent you from playing.

Play the game, and don't worry about it. When the patch is found then Patch the game.

Until then PLAY AND DON'T PANIC because you don't have the patch.

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 23:17
Originally posted by amievil?
isnt 1.14 the platinum edition of tdp....if so then i had that once and didnt ever patch it. never had any problems with it. if you mean the tgold patch that would allow you to play tgold missions, try www.thief-thecircle.com/dromed

Thanks, but that's neither platinum, nor gold :)

thefool
8th Jun 2003, 23:24
Originally posted by theBlackman
If the EXE does not work. You need the correct patch. None of the USA patches will work. I know there is a UK and European patch. For the UK it is called the PREMIER update patch or something like that.

This is the patch you need. Still looking through my sources but have sent some HELP calls out. Hopefully someone will come up with something.

In the mean time, the patch takes care of a few minor bugs and changes some AI quirks and locations but none of this is a big deal in playing the game.

Just do QS often to have a restart area, and play.

If I find the patch, or if someone else does, good. But don't let not having the patch prevent you from playing.

Play the game, and don't worry about it. When the patch is found then Patch the game.

Until then PLAY AND DON'T PANIC because you don't have the patch.

Thought the update would improve graphics as well.

Believe me, that however the exe replacement sounds a brute-force solution, it would solve the problem, because the difference between GERMAN US UK versions appears only in the exe file, it doesn't affect all the other files. So if I replaced my (European) exe with a US than it would work further as a US version. I think it's just as simple!

Anyway thanks 4 your help and i won't panic ;)

amievil?
8th Jun 2003, 23:26
oops, 1.33 is the platinum version. thats why i never had to patch mine :)

theBlackman
8th Jun 2003, 23:34
The earliest US version is 1.14. The patch makes it 1.33.

One of the European versions is called Version 1. The European versions use a special patch.

You say yours shows as Ver. 1.14 so I suspect that it is what they call the Premier in the UK.

As for the texture, I personally have never noticed a big difference between 1.14 and the patched 1.33, or the Platinum version 1.33 which was sold already patched.

I have all 5 versions of Thief. 1.14, 1.33, 1.37 (gold) 1.07, and the 1.18 already patched.

I actually prefer the 1.14 version of TDP for game play. It is harder, the AI are different and the locations and problems slightly different.

I'll keep looking for the patch though.

Good luck :D

thief0
18th Jun 2003, 00:31
thefool, try this 9.74 mb patch at

http://www.sold-out.co.uk/soldout/support/thief.html


Good luck!

thief0
18th Jun 2003, 21:35
thefool, have you tried it yet?

thefool
20th Jun 2003, 12:56
Originally posted by thief0
thefool, have you tried it yet?

It's the same 10.1 MB patch I have, just zipped. So it doesn't work.

Anyway thanks.