PDA

View Full Version : Game, Strategy and Communiity

silvercue
10th Apr 2003, 15:44
Hi all, I am new to the board - just been reading a cpl days.
I started playing the demo after reading a book called Emporer: The Gates of Rome by Conn iggulden - it's fantastic - anyone read it?
Anyway, now I have full game & I have searched the web for decent Preatorian Sites or strategy guides, basic community things and can't find anything in English. I noticed a thread about putting something togethor, is there no decent sites or a strategy guide anywhere?
The game seems great fun to me, but the strategy in battle seems a little simplistic at the moment (I play Warcraft 3 and the new Beta for the expansion which is far more complex) maybe thats because I am still at the beginning of the game. The only thing I don't like is the horrible bunching of units in battle, or worse the way units scale ladders - looks ridiculous.
Also, don't like the fact that you cannot run away - not even save ANY troops in melee - I know heavy armour may struggle to get away but this seems excessive.
Otherwise, I love the look and feel of the game and hope this board prospers :) A good community will be essential - especially if those map making tools come out one day.

Athos
11th Apr 2003, 01:37
There is actually a good amount of strategy in this game.

Primarily in the matchup of units and how you move around the map.
If you just move your troops toward an objective in sp they will get murdered, have to scout and know everything about where they are about to move....

In terms of battles, you need to have the right units, ie
spearmen out front in stationary, archers behind them and then legionaries protecting flanks and to sweep onto attackers being held up by the spearmen. And of course cavalry off to the side to kill off enemy archers and siege equipment.

And then theres mp, which has many different facets. There has been a few good strategies posted.

prefect
11th Apr 2003, 02:02