PDA

View Full Version : Formations



Telemach
9th Mar 2003, 12:11
When moving a whole garrison, I want spearmen at the front, damnit. Or I might want them leading down the side. Anyone managed to keep their large groups of men in formation???

Help appreciated, cheers.

superdroideka
9th Mar 2003, 16:11
That's diffucult indeed. Sometimes my centurion or healer walk at the front, that is extremely annoying!

Outcast_Rebel
9th Mar 2003, 19:33
It's because everything moves at different speed's, they should
have included a hold formation order button in the game.:)

Shamaani
10th Mar 2003, 06:23
In order to get spearmen in the front,
standard army corps in the middle, and archer behind I do like this :

select army corps and set them to DEFEND the pikemen.
select archers and set them to DEFEND the army corps.
for moving the whole army, just move the pikemen...

hope it helps.

NOTE: it should work, but u should move slowly and not rush or charge. Make a pause every "screen" to get the army in good order.

DTRY
11th Mar 2003, 12:35
This is quite disappointing especially for a combat-intensive game. They should have include army formation like the Total War series, or at least some lesser formation like AOE2. :rolleyes:

Shamaani
11th Mar 2003, 12:48
yes.

Another solution is to assign groups.
separate :
archers,
cavalry,
infantry ...

it's mobile and u can protect archers with infantry, quickly.
I use that, and it is better than nothing.