PDA

View Full Version : Routers. Best configuration?

Peter_Smith
10th Sep 2002, 07:38
I am about to buy a router/switch for internet sharing of a DSL line. That is a given. I have never used a router before, and I am wondering what is the best configuration. Let's say I put ethernet wiring in several rooms. I want to connect everything together locally, but I do not necessarily want all the computers to have internet access. For example, there could be a print server and a file server that do not need or want internet access. How should I configure the router and or hubs (I already have two hubs) so all equipment is connected?

Say I buy a LinksysEtherFast® Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch. Say I might one day want to have four computers accessing the internet using the same DSL account. How do I get to the other stuff on the LAN?

Or do I need to bite the bullet and get a router with more ports? Or can several of these be daisy chained? Etc., etc. Any advice on these and other questions I have not thought of would be appreciated.:)

Peter_Smith
10th Sep 2002, 19:17
A network guy at work told me I can connect a switch to the four port router and the router's DHCP services will also extend to everything connected to the switch. The problem is apparently solved. If you have any other comments, please feel free.:)

Vanguard
10th Sep 2002, 22:08
I'm sure the router will let you specify which computers have external (Internet) access and which don't. You'll probably want to compile an include list rather than an exclude list. I usually wander to the vendor's web site for info.