PDA

View Full Version : color depth



Xcom
1st Sep 2002, 20:53
I am only being able to play in 16 bits color (regardless of resolution). Is it supposed to be this way????

Specs:

p3 450
Diamond Viper 550 16 mb (Riva TNT chip) *
Voodoo2 (add-on) card
128 mb RAM
Win 98

* Using 28.32 Detonator driver (can't use the very lastest drivers cuz they don't seem to support TNT any more)

Game gives me only 16 bits color resolutions like:

640x480x16
800x600x16
1024x768x16
etc..etc.

This happens with both cards (TNT and voodoo2)

Any help would be appreciated.

ps: tried to outsmart the game by manually changing color depth in cam.cfg and crashed to desktop.

Zaccheus
1st Sep 2002, 21:24
Yes, believe it or not, neither Thief 1 nor Thief 2 runs in 32bit colour.
Thief 1 runs in 8bit or 16bit, and Thief 2 only runs in 16bit.
:rolleyes:

No, I don't know why either.
:confused:

Hopefully Thief 3 will make the jump to full colour.
:D

Xcom
1st Sep 2002, 21:53
LOL. Ok, thanks for clearing that up.