PDA

View Full Version : Moderators...I have a question regarding replies



Huntress
11th Aug 2002, 22:17
to a post and having too many smilies whatever. I am very unhappy over an occurance that just took place.

I was attempting to write a very thoughtful reply to a post and was quite lengthy. When I tried to submit, got the message to many smilies, etc. go back and fix...so I hit the back button to eliminate some of these and when I did...all my message was gone and a blank page came up :( This was and is very aggravating...why? I really don't want to have to write the whole thing over again just to make this change in my text. Please...this can't be the way it should be working to make a correction when submitting. I'd appreciate a look into this and why it's doing this? Thank you.

Thorin Oakenshield
11th Aug 2002, 22:56
I have had that problem too:rolleyes:
Yes it's annoying to say the least:(

Xcom
11th Aug 2002, 23:04
Erm, first, I am sure this is not the forum's fault. ;) Cuz I don't have this problem (not in netscape 6 and not in IE5). It might be something in your browser settings.

RicknMel
11th Aug 2002, 23:25
Blah Blah Blah Blah
Don't mind me...just testing my browser....



...Welp....It told me there were too many smilies....and when I hit "back", my message was still there.

Sorry Huntress
Looks like it is a problem with your setup. :(

btw.......I use IE 5.0 and Win98SE

Peter_Smith
11th Aug 2002, 23:49
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

That was 12 big grins.

Now it is 8.

Works for me, Huntress, using Netscape 6 and Win 2000. I suggest you test it again in this thread and see what happens. Maybe it was just a random cyber glitch.

Thorin Oakenshield
12th Aug 2002, 00:05
Im using IE6

It works OK now:eek:

Computers...:rolleyes:

ChowYunFat
12th Aug 2002, 00:24
Hi Huntress! I've never had that problem but now & then my AOL suddenly bumps me offline & I've lost lengthy messages on message boards & elsewhere. The solution I use for this problem is simply to first write out my entire reply in Notepad & then paste it into the response box. Then if I get bumped, the message is still there! If you do this, you'll have to use ctl+v to paste.

Munin the Raven
12th Aug 2002, 02:13
I'm a big fan of the notepad/wordpad paste-ins too. You can't rely on a dial-up service such as AOL to give you an uninterrupted connection or error-free operation. By using a separate application for typing the topic or reply you can avoid losing 90% or greater of those posts that don't send properly or are dumped when the browser crashes or connection is broken.

THEthief
12th Aug 2002, 03:26
Huntress, I've had that problem too. Not using IE, but Netscape. I always try to remember to copy my message; most times, though, I forget, and have to re-write it. :( :( Very annoying. :(

[Edit: Just to clarify things, I want to add that it's not just this site that it happens at - any time I use Netscape, it happens - it must be some settings, somewhere.:)]

Huntress
12th Aug 2002, 04:10
over on this side of things that I had too many smilies...or whatevers...and I did not have this happen on our old forum...would hit the back key, take out some extras and resubmitted without any problem. My setup is the same now as it was then. I use IE 6 and have been for a few months now...at least 3 or more maybe I would guess? Sometimes in the past however, due to other reasons like flood control that would sometimes interfere with me getting through, I have used copy/paste method of sorts...so I don't know what happened here but it was discouraging :( Thanks for all your replies and I just hope it doesn't happen again...under normal circumstances of course :) Ta and Good Hunting!

Peter_Smith
12th Aug 2002, 04:16
Did you test it again to see if it was typical peformance (maybe your settings) or just an unfortunate glitch?

Huntress
12th Aug 2002, 04:39
Guess I could try in here but don't know if it was just smilies...cause the message that comes up when you try to submit also mentions other things as possible reasons why you can't submit...can't remember if I had any of that in there also? But generally...go back and fix it, LOL

My smilies test even though it may not truely represent what I had tried to submit. :D :D :) :( ;) :) :(
Ta and Good Hunting!

EDITED WITH THIS PART OF MESSAGE: Images include use of smilies, the vB code [img] tag and HTML <img> tags. The use of these is all subject to them being enabled by the administrator.


Well this time I got back in and text is showing...GRRRRRR for the one I lost! Submitted with this originally 9 plus my sig that has one in it....now resubmit with 7 plus sig..

EDITED ONE MORE TIME WITH 8 plus sig...? Nope won't work this way...have to take one smilie out...

I do believe this is the first time that I actually lost my message...or if I ever did must have been a long time ago cause I don't remember ever having this happen before in this manner. Disconnects sure and the like but not this way so I was very surprised and not expecting anything like it, so consequently had no reason to suspect that I would need to copy...oh well guess I'll retry sometime to rewrite but don't know if it will come out the same way I intended...cause it was off the top of my head and not something I can duplicate in the same way I tried to express myself originally...hard to put some thoughts in writing and make it come out the same way you hoped it would in the first place.
Thanks again for the assist...[smilie]

RiCh
13th Aug 2002, 14:40
I had the same problem once long ago when replying to a post Huntress. I now write all longer posts in ‘Word’ before pasting them into the text box on the forums. This way I won’t lose what I’ve already written.

But I guess your problem is that you're just too darn happy :D

Vanguard
14th Aug 2002, 04:23
In Internet Explorer, go to the Tools -> Internet Options menu, open the General Tab, click on the Settings button and check when you have IE check (and display) newer versions of the page. This is just a guess, but maybe the "Automatic" setting (and maybe the "Every time you start IE" setting) keep the page content that you modified when you return to it, while the "Every visit to page" option probably blows your edits away because it got a new copy of the page.

Huntress
14th Aug 2002, 23:21
maybe when I updated I.E. it changed? Or maybe I was under the impression ppl in the past said to use that setting rather than Automatically? I have never used Every Time I Open I.E. to the best of my knowledge. This was the first time I really had this type of occurance that I can recall as well? So now I have it marked Automatic but don't see how this really would differ from Every Time I Visit? Maybe it will make a difference...dunno only time will tell. So here's hoping :) Ta and Good Hunting!