PDA

View Full Version : desktop crash before chapter 4 HELP!!!



angel
16th Jul 2002, 14:17
desktop crash before chapter 4 HELP!

PLEASE somebody help me. I've been trying to proceed to chapter 4 but it always crashes to the desktop while the chapter 4 title is on screen. I've already installed the 1.02 patch, scanned drive and defragmented. :confused:

blincoln
16th Jul 2002, 15:46
Do you have an Nvidia-based graphics card? Like a GeForce? If so, what drivers are you using?

angel
16th Jul 2002, 15:57
i don't know anything about drivers :D or anything else on PC's really except that i have one... i know... i know.... its pathetic. this is my first game actually. no wonder i'm stuck.

blincoln
16th Jul 2002, 20:44
If you go to your Start Menu, then click on Run, it will pop up a box. Type in "dxdiag" (without the quotes) and press enter. In the DirectX Diagnostic Tool window that comes up, click on the Display tab. Let me know what it says in the Device and Drivers boxes.

angel
18th Jul 2002, 17:16
:confused:

Display Devices
---------------
Card name: Trident CyberBlade Ai1 AGP (42)
Manufacturer: Trident Microsystems
Chip type: CyberBlade Ai1
DAC type: Trident-Built-In
Device ID: Enum\PCI\VEN_1023&DEV_8620&SUBSYS_02131014&REV_5D\000800
Display Memory: 7.5 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit)(optimal refresh rate)
Monitor: Default Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1024,768
Driver Name: trid8620.drv
Driver Version: 4.12.01.2284 (English)
DDI Version: 8 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 4/3/2001 23:12:20, 202016 bytes
Driver Signed: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: *vdd,*vflatd
Mini VDD: tvdd8620.vxd
Mini VDD Date: , 0 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EC3-C560-11CF-487B-1222FEC2C935}
Vendor ID: 0x1023
Device ID: 0x8620
SubSys ID: 0x02131014
Revision ID: 0x005D
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled

blincoln
18th Jul 2002, 17:53
Is this a laptop? That might be your problem. AFAIK the Cyberblade was mostly for laptops.
If not, it may be the low amount of video memory (it says 7.5, which I assume means it has around 8). By comparison, mine has 128MB of video RAM =). If you have a low-memory graphics system, you might want to try playing it at a lower resolution. What do you have it at right now, 800x600? 1024x768? This is the way you have it set up in Blood Omen 2, not Windows.