PDA

View Full Version : question(s) about making new outfits (for people who are really patient)



shirl123
8th Jul 2002, 19:56
well, the "story" goes that way:
I'm trying to make a new level ....at my friend's computer (the level editor doesn't work in my computer for some reason).
and I got this prog. for new outfits called Strpix 3. (in my computer...)
there's only one problem, I don't really understand how can I make new outfits with it (and yes, I've already tried to read the instructions).

I was just wondering if you guys can help me with that prog. or recommend me some other progs. (that are more easy to use...)...

Raider of tombs
8th Jul 2002, 20:12
Don't worry shirly123 i have same prob with most programs including stipx 3, so i hope someone can help you and me *sigh*

The Raider of tombs. Danny

P.S we should keep our hopes up And LOL at the Problem in and HEHE.:D :)

LarzBritsh
8th Jul 2002, 20:25
Ah, the transition from the TR Series forum to the TRLE forum.

You can export the textures out and modify it, then import back in so all the faces bareing that texture will look different:

Control-click a face to show its texture
Export the texture to a bmp file
Modify the bmp with a graphics program
Import back in


You can also place a texture onto a face by selecting the texture and clicking on the face.
You can rotate and mirror textures using shift, and alt.

Then after you've got the hang of Strpix, you can import custom meshes, remap vertices, add shine and semi-transparentcy.

It's best to have several versions of Strpix, each for different purposes.

and in little time you can have cool-looking outfits like
this: (by Danny K.)

http://www.angelfire.com/empire/larazade/allamergirl.txt


If you want to check out more outfits go to my site:

http://www.angelfire.com/empire/larazade/trtbanner6.txt (http://larzbritsh.topcities.com)

shirl123
8th Jul 2002, 20:34
Control-click a face to show its texture
Export the texture to a bmp file
Modify the bmp with a graphics program
Import back in

I already tried to do that, but for some reason it says that: "Scan line index out of range" (I have no idea what it means...)

all the other things that you told me (or should I say "us") to do....
that's the part that I understood from the insructions...

one last thing: your outfits are awsome! :)

LarzBritsh
8th Jul 2002, 20:39
Those are Danny K.'s outfits. I have my own section for my own outfits, but currently only one is up. I've made serveral, but i haven't had time to put them up, i just announce them here, in this forum.

shirl123
8th Jul 2002, 20:39
ok, I think I got it! :D

it's working!!!!! :D

shirl123
9th Jul 2002, 10:31
oh...it isn't yours...opps :p

well, my new outfit is kind of ready...I think....

one more question:
how do I make a new haircut (for example) to Lara?
or...a new dress...etc?

LarzBritsh
9th Jul 2002, 16:38
You'll need to use a 3d CAD program like Metasequoia (there is a free version) or Rhinos (there is a limited save evaluation version)

I've made tons of custom meshes, like Lara with sunglassses, Lara with a jacket on, Lara with smaller feet etc.

You're just beginning to use Strpix, so i recommend not starting on custom meshes until you really get a hang of working with Strpix. When i first started on custom meshes, i had so many newbie problems.

If you want to look at more outfits go to Tommy's site:

http://www.angelfire.com/mi4/laras_wardrobe/

or go to the new ressurected TR Clothes:

http://www.tombraiderencyclopedia/trclothes/

Or go to the TRwad's search engine:

http://trsearch.tripoc.com

I didn't give up on making custom meshes, when i had problems.
and i paided off. I never thought that i could make this:

http://www.angelfire.com/empire/larazade/witchbladehand.txt

shirl123
9th Jul 2002, 19:34
well, I still want to try to make all these cool stuff
it wont take me too long to learn how to use it etc (heh, I already finished my new outfit, and I have an idea for a new one)
so...errrr...is there any link that I can download one of these progs. from?


btw, thanks a lot :) you're really helping me and I think that I owe you one. :)

TRWad
9th Jul 2002, 19:58
Originally posted by LarzBritsh
Or go to the TRwad's search engine:

http://trsearch.tripoc.com

GRRRRR. You made a mistake in the url. It's http://trsearch.tripod.com (http://trsearch.tripod.com/cgi-bin/TRSearch.cgi), but I don't know if it works. Tripod has broken down all the links a few days ago.

TheMask
9th Jul 2002, 19:58
Originally posted by shirl123
so...errrr...is there any link that I can download one of these progs. from?

Go here for metasequoia:
http://www1.sphere.ne.jp/mizno/main_e.html :)

lara_croft_AOD(danny.k)
9th Jul 2002, 19:59
:o i feel so loved:D
o just keep trying youl get it;)

shirl123
9th Jul 2002, 20:04
themask- oh! thank you! :D there's only 1 problem: I don't know which version I should download.

danny K- thank you :p and your outfits are so cool!

LarzBritsh
9th Jul 2002, 20:09
I use Metasequoia to make my meshes. It is the easiest to learn.

Whenever you open of save a mesh in .dxf format you'll need to follow this configuration:

Opening (the box that pops up when you open a .dxf file:

Multiply= 1
X = 2
Click on "Swap YZ"
Check "Invert Face"

Saving (box that pops up when saving a .dxf file:

Multiply= 0.01
X= 0
Click on "Swap YZ"

More info here: http://www.geocities.com/cyber_delphi/

Best Strpix for importing .dxf: Strpix 3.8
Best Stripix to remap vertices: Strpix 3.5
Best Strpix for resaving for stablity: Stripix 3.4 and below

for regular outfit making i like to use Strpix 3.8r1

don't give up if your mesh doesn't work at first, it just needs some fine-tuning. The first mesh i ever made was a simple one, a bellbottom mesh for Lara's lower leg.

If start to mess around with joints, then you will have trouble and it'll get messy. Some joints you cannot change like Lara's ponyail, knee joints, elbow joints, wrist joint etc.

If you want to try it out, Tommy Tomb Raider has some custom meshes you can download.
the link to his site is in my last reply in this thread.

LarzBritsh
9th Jul 2002, 20:38
Common problems with meshes

Problem: looks like it is inside out when imported to Strpix.
Solution: You need to check the invert-face option only once (either when opening or saving)

Problem: Mesh cannot be imported into Strpix
Solution: you didn't save it correctly

Problem: In-game the mesh has weird flickering textures that you didn't add
Solution: there is a similar overlapped face that didn't get textured, and there is no way to texture it, so the game textures it itself. You'll need to select the whole mesh and use the
"delete overlapped faces" option from one of the overhead menus in Metasequoia.

Problem: You changed the joints and now it is gone in-game, even though you made sure the joints mesh correctly
Solution: you were probably not allowed the change that particular joint (you can find an working outfit with the joint you want and work from that wad)

Problem: You get spike lines that go on forever connected to Lara
Solution: see last solution, or you didn't make sure that the surrounding meshes connect correctly.

Problem: You cannnot texture Lara's face correctly after importing a custom mesh, or just about any custom mesh
Solution: use a combination sequence of alt-control-click, click, shift, and alt. If you cannot get it to texture properly after a long time, control click on a face that does have the texture placed correctly and then click on the one you're working on.

(This may or may not work)

Problem: Your wad is corrupt
Solution: You need to resave using Strpix 3.4 or below.

Problem: Lara's ponytail doesn't connect correctly after importing a custom head.
Solution: Download Strpix 3.5, and go to Turbo's site, look or link under "ponytail problem"

Problem: you want to give your mesh more faces
Solution: select area to give more faces to, and select "mesh smoothing" from Metasequoia overhead menu.

Problem you want to change a joint, but you not sure how to make it connect correctly
Solution: Insert it.

shirl123
9th Jul 2002, 22:22
Problem: Mesh cannot be imported into Strpix
Solution: you didn't save it correctly

hmmm....
well I have no idea if it has something to do with that but errr....I can't save the new dfx file
it tells me that "only registered version can export" :confused:

DKSM
9th Jul 2002, 22:28
You downloaded the demo of the version you have to pay for. You have to get the freeware version.

shirl123
9th Jul 2002, 22:32
oh crap! how can I be so stupid!
ok, I'll download the other version right now...

[edit: I've messed up with it a little, and I saved it. now when I opend it in strpix 3 it was white....)

shirl123
10th Jul 2002, 21:22
[edit: I've messed up with it a little, and I saved it. now when I opend it in strpix 3 it was white....)

and it was messed-up too
it didn't look like her head at all

LarzBritsh
10th Jul 2002, 21:27
Did you save it correctly?
Did you check "invert face" only once?
It' supposed to be white, when you import a new mesh to the wad. You'll have to texture it again.

Also if you put too many faces in a mesh, i'll come up as scrambled in Strpix.

shirl123
10th Jul 2002, 21:44
hmmm...I did everything you told me to do.
I'll try again....

[edit: nope, still not working. it's very very messy, and it's too hard to texture it back...
I'll take a screenshot tomorrow and I'll post it here)

shirl123
11th Jul 2002, 13:36
well, this is the link of the screenshot:

http://www.boomspeed.com/go_to_hell/head.jpg

LarzBritsh
11th Jul 2002, 14:37
From the pic, it looks like you have gaps on your head mesh.

I've already mentioned this in my "common mesh problems" reply.
Select the face that the gap is on, and select "double side face" from one of the overhead menus in Metas.

Then check in Strpix that the gap is gone.

moose562
11th Jul 2002, 21:57
all this mesh stuff is scary - i am such an oldie now, TOTALLY out of touch, i mean i downloaded rhino and that matesa...blah, whatever it is called, thingy too but i am too dumb so i am leaving it up to you clever bods to figure out, and then i'll just texture the meshes....the simple life i guess....and the cowards way too ;) :D

lol

shirl123
11th Jul 2002, 23:26
I'm (still) not getting it :(
I have no idea where's that "double side face" option...

LarzBritsh
12th Jul 2002, 01:02
Now i know what you mean when you wanted a patient person to explain.


Overhead menu, is the row of menus that is on top, near the title bar, it is in every program.

"Double side face" makes the mesh viewable on both sides.

Or maybe you deleted the face by accident, so they show up a gaps.
Using the free 2.1 Metas, there is no way to tell if you've deleted a face for sure. But the evaluation version (v. 2.2) has shading. So you'll know if you've deleted a face or not.

The evaluation version isn't all at useless (just because it can't save in any format except .mqo) You can work within the evaluation version, save the mesh as .mqo.
Open that mesh with Metasequoia free version, and save again as dxf.

If you've "double side face" and it doesn't get rid of the gaps, you've deleted that face. But if you encounter gaps, just "double side face".


Refer to this picture.

http://www.angelfire.com/empire/larazade/metas.txt