PDA

View Full Version : Debugging usermade mission

StarMapper
2nd Jul 2002, 11:21
I'm new to Startopia and I have started creating missions. I have completed the script and begun coding of the mission. The first "scene" is finished but it starts to take such long time to test before I come to any new code written and with that a few questions arias.

1) What is being saved when you save. For example. After I completed the first "scene", I save. Will all my created variables be the same when I reload. Can I do changes in the mish file and they will work.
2) Is there any good tricks.

I use two computers to create the missions. One to play and one to edit. I just reloads the mission to use the latest changes. I want to have an easier way to test the later part of my mission.

DMA57361
2nd Jul 2002, 15:06
Good! Another mission maker. :)

Btw - Startopia Alt-Tabs on my PC fine, so using two PC's is not really nessecary . . . but could save time anyway . . .

When u save all variables are saved. You cannot load a game if you add any if-end loops (I forgot the offical name :() from the file they don't work if you do. Also removing them I think makes it not work at all.

While at the main menu (or in game) HOLD DOWN F11 and then TYPE "SCRIPTINFO" - no quotes. Then use Leftshift/Rightshift & Tab to look thou the pages of info. It holds variable values, station contents, and even later pages show peep stats at the peeps - very helpful!

The first page (LShift & Tab once) is most helpful as it SHOULD say "no errors found", or it will spam error messages . . .

At least this is what I remember from my mission which you can find at the Startopia post! :D *ahem* Sorry . . . just gettings some free advertising in. ;)

Hope those help, if I'm wrong - correct me.

StarMapper
2nd Jul 2002, 17:26