PDA

View Full Version : How do I get a signature and other vital questions.



GoranAgar
28th Jun 2002, 09:24
Others have nice pictures below their posts and you want one too?

Here is the most important information you need to write down on your left hand:

Max width: 450px
Max height: 150px
Max filesize: 30 KiloBytes

If your signature (picture + text) is bigger than the following example, it is too big. Don't use it.
http://home.planet.nl/~xcom/art/sigwarning.gif

IMPORTANT: width doesn't compensate for height, height doesn't compensate for width, filesize doesn't compensate for width and height and so on. This means:
- You can't have very long but thin sigs
- You can't have huge sigs which are only few Kbs in size.
- etc.

Don't know where to get webspace?

Go to http://www.freewebspace.com/ (Thanks for the link, RebeL_fARmeR). Upload the picture you want in your signature and put the link to it into your profile like this (of course with your own correct URL):

http://www.whereever.com/mysig.jpg

Don't use pictures that are stored on other people's websites.

Do us other members a favour and post your signature only once per thread.

Don't post signature testing threads. Test in here and clean up behind you! You can delete your own replies, you know?

Solaris
8th Sep 2002, 04:07
I just want to know..

Does my sig look to messy..it seems to me there is just to much going on so if i can have any suggestions on how to have a "cleaner" sig...


Thanks:D
My sig...

Aquarius
13th Sep 2002, 21:10
http://beifan.com/034dragon/34chinese.html

There are some quite good pictures there of statues in Beijing and I think Shanghi, that would make for a good collage.

I'll be back in a bit, with more 'dragon' research. :p

Or what do you think of this picture?

http://members.tripod.com/Stormbringer777/Lesser.htm

Solaris
13th Sep 2002, 21:30
well the pics are very nice but i was meaning like maybe i should ask staticon to do i totally diferent isg using this dragon above.

i mean i think im due for a new backround..it just looks so messy....

Aquarius
14th Sep 2002, 02:10
What about, for the background, a foggy/misty morning, in the moors of Ireland? That would make for an awesome background. And then maybe make the dragon look like it's emerging from the mists.

Solaris
14th Sep 2002, 22:41
Originally posted by Aquarius
What about, for the background, a foggy/misty morning, in the moors of Ireland? That would make for an awesome background. And then maybe make the dragon look like it's emerging from the mists.

Sound good....then maybe i can make a lockness monster affect:rolleyes:

But thats i good idea ill ask statico to re-do my backround to that and see how it goess:D

Thanks!!

Godfather
16th Sep 2002, 20:28
Hey, how do you like mine? Recognize the text from somewhere? I know you've heard them before. Try to guess what film or television series I copied this classic introduction from?

Godfather
17th Sep 2002, 21:20
No, I don't get your sig either. Are you sure the site where you copied the picture from is ok? Just checkin' ... and tryin' to help here. C ya!

Solaris
17th Sep 2002, 21:24
Originally posted by Godfather
No, I don't get your sig either. Are you sure the site where you copied the picture from is ok? Just checkin' ... and tryin' to help here. C ya!

well staticon is trying to make adjustments to the co.uk so my sig can show up.

*sigh*

[edit] staticon fixed it for me see: [edit]

BDA7DD
18th Sep 2002, 09:57
Originally posted by GoranAgar
http://home.planet.nl/~xcom/art/sigwarning.gif

That should really be a PNG, not a GIF. Sorry to sound all whiney, but it would do much better as a PNG.


Originally posted by GoranAgar
http://home.t-online.de/home/plasma1/load/imgcode.jpg

That should really be a PNG, not a JPG. Sorry to sound all whiney, but it would do much better as a PNG.

:D

Sorry for picking on you, Goran, but this just needed mentioning. However, I'm not necessarily directing this towards you, but to every one of you who doesn't know how to use proper image formats.

For more information on which image formats you should use according to the circumstances, this is a good guide/FAQ to read: http://www.r1ch.net/img-formats/. It explains in detail both the basic stuff and the advanced stuff regarding image formats. From how to save in different formats to an explanation on the effects of "artifacting" using a "lossy" format (such as JPG,) this is the guide to read.

GoranAgar
18th Sep 2002, 19:01
Originally posted by BDA7DD
That should really be a PNG, not a JPG. Sorry to sound all whiney, but it would do much better as a PNG.

Sorry for picking on you, Goran, but this just needed mentioning. However, I'm not necessarily directing this towards you, but to every one of you who doesn't know how to use proper image formats.

For more information on which image formats you should use according to the circumstances, this is a good guide/FAQ to read: http://www.r1ch.net/img-formats/. It explains in detail both the basic stuff and the advanced stuff regarding image formats. From how to save in different formats to an explanation on the effects of "artifacting" using a "lossy" format (such as JPG,) this is the guide to read.

That png format may look nicer close up, but the files are way bigger than jpg files if it is pictures you want to put online. "...the JPEG on the left is 31.8 KB (32,651 bytes) and the lossless PNG on the right is 106 KB (109,475 bytes)." (taken from that website you posted the link to)

As for the gifs, I couldn't reproduce their results in Photoshop, which might be because I have only worked with it for 4 years. ;)

Therefore I won't start using the png format for my signature pictures today.

BDA7DD
20th Sep 2002, 09:05
Originally posted by GoranAgar
That png format may look nicer close up, but the files are way bigger than jpg files if it is pictures you want to put online. "...the JPEG on the left is 31.8 KB (32,651 bytes) and the lossless PNG on the right is 106 KB (109,475 bytes)." (taken from that website you posted the link to)

Way to not read and comprehend the guide properly. The part of that guide that says the above is when explaining the advantages of JPEG for PHOTOGRAPHS AND RICH DETAIL IMAGES. Using lossless PNG in 24bpp or 32bpp depth is obviously going to result in very large image sizes. That's why you use JPEG in photographs and rich detail images, since the artifacting is hardly noticable. The guide also explains that images with low colour counts and/or less "dynamic" colour allocations (such as screenshots and simple line graphics) would benefit from PNG, since those are the kinds of images where the artifacting would be very noticable and quite annoying. The image format you should use is completely circumstantial. There isn't one universal optimal image format. There are times where PNG would be better, times when JPEG would be better, and (not very many) times when GIF would be better.

Also, if you want examples of how beneficial PNG can be, what better source images to use than your own:

sigwarning.gif (http://home.planet.nl/~xcom/art/sigwarning.gif):

Width | 450 pixels
Height | 150 pixels
Depth | 4 bits per pixel
Size | 3331 bytes

sigwarning.png (http://www3.sympatico.ca/you-oughta-know/stuff/images/forums/eidos/games/tombraider/legacy/sigwarning.png):

Width | 450 pixels
Height | 150 pixels
Depth | 4 bits per pixel
Size | 2442 bytes

imgcode.jpg (http://home.t-online.de/home/plasma1/load/imgcode.jpg):

Width | 759 pixels
Height | 61 pixels
Depth | 24 bits per pixel
Size | 12654 bytes

imgcode.png (http://www3.sympatico.ca/you-oughta-know/stuff/images/forums/eidos/games/tombraider/legacy/imgcode.png):

Width | 759 pixels
Height | 61 pixels
Depth | 4 bits per pixel
Size | 9858 bytes

As you can see, both pictures are a lot smaller in terms of size when they are converted to PNG. In the example of the imgcode.jpg file, the size reduction of PNG is even better when you reduce the colour depth to 4bpp, and in the case of this particular image, there is no visible reduction in quality whatsoever as a result of the colour depth reduction. Honestly, I don't know why you were using 24bpp for that image in the first place, seeing as it only really has two noticable colours. If I were to tweak it out and optimize it further, I could reduce it to a 1bpp PNG with a custom palette, resulting in an even smaller size.

So tell me, what exactly is the problem with PNG here? (HINT: There is none.)


Originally posted by GoranAgar
As for the gifs, I couldn't reproduce their results in Photoshop, which might be because I have only worked with it for 4 years. ;)

Feel free to use the PNGs I created for the examples above. Just don't directly link them to my webspace, save them and upload them to your webspace instead.

If you want to convert images to and from different image formats, I suggest getting IrfanView (http://www.irfanview.com/). It's a freeware image viewer that does everything that the more popular image viewing program ACDSee (http://www.acdsystems.com/English/Products/ACDSee/) can do (slideshows, mousewheel cycling, etc.) and a hell of a lot more. You can also use it to convert images to different image formats, and if you have a bunch of images that need converted, IrfanView can do a "batch conversion" which allows you to manipulate multiple images at once.

GoranAgar
20th Sep 2002, 09:26
Originally posted by BDA7DD
So tell me, what exactly is the problem with PNG here?
Heehee, the remaining problem I can't tell you in public, I will PM you.

I will play with it a bit more, I promise ;)

Godfather
7th Oct 2002, 19:57
Anyway, if anyone should ask ... my text in my sig is copied from one of thé greatest series of all time ...

THE A-TEAM!!!! (only a little adapted of course since we aren't talking about four sweating ex-prisoners, but one beautiful, stylish, hot and very attractive zuperzexy supermodel) :D

Polar_Andromeda
8th Oct 2002, 00:38
Does my sig show? If it doesn't, what am I doing wrong? It's a very small gif (87x128, 5.71 kb).

BDA7DD
9th Oct 2002, 17:12
Originally posted by Polar_Andromeda
Does my sig show? If it doesn't, what am I doing wrong? It's a very small gif (87x128, 5.71 kb).

Working great on my end. You're good to go!

Johnny
31st Oct 2002, 00:41
I hope my sig works...

BDA7DD
4th Nov 2002, 07:59
Originally posted by Johnny
I hope my sig works...

It works, but it's way too big and in violation of the size rules. Did you even READ this thread? Jesus Christ.

(edited to enable sig to test it out)

Hålo
17th Nov 2002, 21:09
Hows mine guys?

made it a while ago, and it still looks good to me. let me know if animation is against the rules, and I'll use the static version.

Anyway, there is an alternative host for sigs, and that is http://www.lycos.co.uk

The good thing about that place is you can host like 100 different sigs at once with their space.

MountainDewNut
17th Nov 2002, 22:45
Great job Hålo! It looks really good.

Hålo
18th Nov 2002, 03:31
Thanks. only took me like 20 minutes to make though. here is the avatar I made to go with it:

http://members.lycos.co.uk/halo6232/halo_avatar.gif

The Raider
15th Dec 2002, 22:17
Testing...

Collin
16th Dec 2002, 00:21
Ermmm, The Raider, you might want to read the first post of this thread... You know, about the dimensions of a sig....

BDA7DD
17th Dec 2002, 19:14
Originally posted by The Raider
Testing...

Read the thread, moron. That's too damn big.

L Croft
8th Jan 2003, 13:47
Testing

RebeL_fARmeR
25th Mar 2003, 21:50
IF ANYONE WANTS A FREE HOST WITH AVAILABLE OFFSITE IMAGE LINKAGE GO TO http://www.freewebspace.com

BDA7DD
25th Mar 2003, 22:57
Originally posted by RebeL_fARmeR
IF ANYONE WANTS A FREE HOST WITH AVAILABLE OFFSITE IMAGE LINKAGE GO TO http://www.freewebspace.com

You see that button on your keyboard right above the left shift key, the one that says "Caps Lock"? Now look at the top-right corner of your keyboard and check out those three lights. Notice how one of those lights says "Caps Lock" above it. See how that light is turned on? Press that "Caps Lock" button I pointed out earlier and watch as that light goes off. Neat, huh? But wait, there's more! Now type something in a text editor or something and watch as your text magically turns to lowercase letters! No longer will people accuse you of "shouting" when you type! It's incredible what computers are capable of these days, isn't it?

No need to thank me or anything, I'm just happy to be of service. :) Stay tuned for our next lesson: How to type numbers! Use any combination and amount of numbers from 0 to 9 to represent dates, prices and more with the greatest of ease! This truly is the future we're living in, ladies and gentlemen!

skii
16th Apr 2003, 22:36
testing...

skii
16th Apr 2003, 22:42
test2

GoranAgar
17th Apr 2003, 09:36
http://www.whereever.com/mysig.jpg

This is the coding.

BDA7DD
17th Apr 2003, 16:35
GoranAgar posted the image code by using this syntax
[B][img[/B][B]]htt[/B][B]p://www.whereever.com/mysig.jpg[/img][/B]

Tsk tsk... sloppy, sloppy. :)

Needs more ASCII substitutions. Just use [ instead of [ and ] instead of ]. Here, like this...

You type this:
[img]http://www.whereever.com/mysig.jpg[/img]

It comes out as this:
[img]http://www.whereever.com/mysig.jpg[/img]

Pretty easy, huh?

GoranAgar
17th Apr 2003, 18:05
You have too much time on your hands. :p

BDA7DD
19th Apr 2003, 09:18
Stating the obvious. ;)

Johnny
11th May 2003, 14:07
Originally posted by RebeL_fARmeR
IF ANYONE WANTS A FREE HOST WITH AVAILABLE OFFSITE IMAGE LINKAGE GO TO http://www.freewebspace.com

I used hostmysig.com, and the site design is cleaner and more user-friendly than that cheesy freewebspace.com. Just a suggestion… Go with hostmysig.com. ;)

BDA7DD
12th May 2003, 16:34
Johnny, just wanted to say that I love your sig. :)

Johnny
12th May 2003, 19:31
Originally posted by BDA7DD
Johnny, just wanted to say that I love your sig. :)

Hehe... Thanks, man. Isn't she HOT? :D

BDA7DD
13th May 2003, 14:33
Originally posted by Johnny
Isn't she HOT? :D

Now that's a rhetorical question if I ever heard one, heheheh.

Vida Guerra is pretty hot, too. She's a model for FHM, I believe. I've even got a desktop background of her. Here, I'll be nice and share it with you and everyone else who wants it :D.

http://bda7dd.no-ip.com/stuff/images/wallpaper/Vida%20Guerra.jpeg

Johnny
14th May 2003, 01:51
Mmmm... Vida Guerra...

*saves picture and sets as desktop wallpaper*
:D

Omega_Weapon
7th Jun 2003, 13:10
What if a sig is not as high, but longer, and has roughly the same total squared dimensions? Is that okay?

GoranAgar
7th Jun 2003, 16:30
Originally posted by GoranAgar
width doesn't compensate for height, height doesn't compensate for width, filesize doesn't compensate for width and height and so on. This means:
- You can't have very long but thin sigs
- You can't have huge sigs which are only few Kbs in size.
- etc.
We don't mind if they are a bit longer. But if someone with 800x600 has to start scrolling sideways it is too long.

Godfather
7th Jun 2003, 20:06
Is this too big, GoranAgar? :D :D

http://www.eidosinteractive.co.uk/gss/trangel/aimicons/12.gif

total_inferno
7th Jun 2003, 20:35
hmm.. tht would make a preety nive avator... for another forums.. :p

LaraCroft_TombRaider
22nd Jun 2003, 05:00
Yeah, go me!:p

total_inferno
2nd Jul 2003, 19:44
test test thnx TMW>..

jinhamasaki
4th Jul 2003, 21:31
boo

triprocket
8th Jul 2003, 04:25
checking again

The Gamester
9th Jul 2003, 19:43
Hey mod! What is this topic doing in AOD forum? Shouldn't it be in the Community forum?

GoranAgar
10th Jul 2003, 06:23
You mean there should be one as well?

ACIDMAN
12th Jul 2003, 16:56
[COLOR=deeppink][SIZE=3][FONT=arial] testing testing 1 2 34

scottieimg

GoranAgar
13th Jul 2003, 14:22
What is he testing?

gamechik
16th Jul 2003, 03:53
I'm new here, but I've noticed no avatars? Odd. :)

total_inferno
18th Jul 2003, 01:15
Goran your sig speaks to evreyone in these forums.. DIE INDY DIE.. ;)

Staticon
19th Jul 2003, 15:44
Another source of sigs, should you want one, is Staticon & Skustings Sig Asylum.
If you want to pay a visit, just click on my sig. :)

fitzy
22nd Jul 2003, 23:47
TEST TA

BlueSkiesXXV
23rd Jul 2003, 14:34
Testing...

Notts Raider
23rd Jul 2003, 15:53
Testing

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/deephouse33/Stargate/fifthracebanner%20small.jpg

I can get the image to work but it wont appear in my sig, whats up?

WIZZETTE3457
24th Jul 2003, 14:27
Test

theFinn
29th Jul 2003, 19:53
attempt to make my sig work....
http://hometown.aol.com/ninicrv01/images/ad4.jpg
that actually isn't my signature, but it is what i want my sig to be... are you allowed to put html's in your sig? if so, how?
~Finn

Leigh Croft
5th Aug 2003, 09:32
Hmm, havent used this for a while cos it screwed up last time, lets see.....

The_Shadow
9th Aug 2003, 04:29
How come we can't have Avatars?... or if you can.. then how?

...Oh nevermind me.. I already know...

theFinn
24th Aug 2003, 21:25
testing testing 123

The*angel*of*darkness
29th Aug 2003, 12:50
testing......

The*angel*of*darkness
29th Aug 2003, 12:53
awww it didn't work

MR_BASKETBALL_MAN
31st Aug 2003, 00:01
Ok now I'm confused.

GoranAgar (or anyone else who knows what to do) will you please guide me step by step about how to get a picture sig.

I'm 14, stupid, and a little on the slow side, so please be patient with me.

Solange
31st Aug 2003, 10:30
I'm 34, and not good at this either! :o But if you check this (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2376) post you'll find many good tips! There is a guide to how you can make your sigs & where you can host them.

RebeL_fARmeR
6th Sep 2003, 11:19
Doesitus workitus?

GurganDellik
6th Jan 2004, 02:06
test

VMan
14th Jan 2004, 04:40
Testing

http://www.geocities.com/dogg_gamer/larasig1-2.jpg.txt

VMan
14th Jan 2004, 04:51
Originally posted by Notts Raider
Testing

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/deephouse33/Stargate/fifthracebanner%20small.jpg

I can get the image to work but it wont appear in my sig, whats up?

I'm having the same problem.

GoranAgar
14th Jan 2004, 07:16
Originally posted by VMan
I'm having the same problem.
Since your sig picture is too big, I guess you deserve it.

VMan
14th Jan 2004, 17:09
Resized, but yet still the same problem. And in advance, the .jpg.txt extension doesn't make a difference from the .jpg extensin.

GoranAgar
14th Jan 2004, 17:28
Well, you have to fill the checkbox where it says: Show Signature: include your profile signature. Only registered users may have signatures. I did that in your last post and it turns the signature on.

But your sig still says .jpg so Geocities won't like that.

VMan
15th Jan 2004, 06:03
Oh, I didn't know it was a box I had to check. Thanks.

traider28
9th May 2004, 21:36
How do you make a sig clickable??? Thanks!!! Sorry new to Sig thing!!!

GoranAgar
11th May 2004, 06:14
Link-URL[/i]]Picture-URL

traider28
14th May 2004, 21:42
Thanks for you time GoranAgar!!

Panoulis
28th Jul 2004, 11:57
:rolleyes:testing...

http://www.russkhan.com/home/panoulis/PanosSig.bmp

Lara Freak
7th Aug 2004, 08:14
Is this ok?:rolleyes:

GoranAgar
9th Aug 2004, 15:13
No.

Lara Freak
4th Sep 2004, 15:31
my signature is ok or she is not beautiful?:confused:

Invincible
5th Sep 2004, 03:48
Your signuture is fine in size and is allowed. He probably doesn't like FF characters..I complitely understand him :D

Invincible
5th Sep 2004, 03:55
Wait, actually, your pictures height is double bigger then it's allowed. It has to be 150, yours is 382px which is pretty damn big

How about this one :D....... heheheh ..hey at least u can have it :p :D
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v402/LandOfShadows/cmxdmg.jpg

*oops...now its size it's too big...scr*w this...I'm outta here :D

GoranAgar
5th Sep 2004, 09:05
Originally posted by Invincible
Wait, actually, your pictures height is double bigger then it's allowed. It has to be 150, yours is 382px which is pretty damn big

How about this one :D....... heheheh ..hey at least u can have it :p :D
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v402/LandOfShadows/cmxdmg.jpg

Invincible is indeed correct.

Lara Freak
8th Sep 2004, 09:48
That's nice but I dunno how to do that......
Too bad but I rarely use signatures......

Invincible
9th Sep 2004, 03:37
You can always write something instead of having a graphic material in your sig :D

Lara Freak
9th Sep 2004, 13:31
Thankie for the advice....

shantal2501
29th Sep 2004, 22:53
how do you even get a sig??? what do you do to get it pls help im totaly clue less!!

Ruby
1st Oct 2004, 01:38
Well, I'm guessing you go to EditProfile, type something or put an image in Sig box, update,and that's it ;)

shantal2501
2nd Oct 2004, 13:02
i meant the picture that people have under their names. like panoulis has a picture with a sword and a moon.i want to get one of those pic.i want to get one of my own

Ruby
3rd Oct 2004, 03:20
You want a sword pic??
Anyways, my image in SIGNATURE won't upload,I don't know why, so I gave up the idea of a sig.
Good luck to you though..

shantal2501
4th Oct 2004, 01:05
i took that sword as an example

Lara Freak
9th Oct 2004, 07:21
Oh well u shoulda jus getta ready-made-pic for ur sig. Uh-huh.
Like mine....:D

:) smiles

Katman
23rd Oct 2004, 01:17
how do I get flares

gamegerl
14th Feb 2005, 19:32
ya...i know how to write something in my signuture but how do i paste a picture???

GoranAgar
15th Feb 2005, 06:28
ya...i know how to write something in my signuture but how do i paste a picture???
Read the first post in this very thread. It is hidden there somewhere.

GoranAgar
10th Mar 2005, 08:09
signature.......is it to big ?
It is. Please reduce the size.

pandamonium
13th Mar 2005, 15:46
Ok...trying this again...


Well alrighty then...I believe this is more suitable

star girl
27th Aug 2005, 14:27
Is this okay? No, I guess. Any one up to help, PLEASE!!!!!

Solange
27th Aug 2005, 15:16
Hello star girl! :)

This is the best I can do with the image as it is, it is a bit blurry. Do you have an original image that is larger, with better quality? Then send it to me, and I'll see what I can do with it!

Here is the link to the image! (http://members.chello.se/solange/sigs/star_girl.jpg)

I can host it for you there if you want. Just make sure you have a copy on your computer, in case I change internet host some day... ;)

star girl
28th Aug 2005, 10:07
Hello star girl! :)

This is the best I can do with the image as it is, it is a bit blurry. Do you have an original image that is larger, with better quality? Then send it to me, and I'll see what I can do with it!

Here is the link to the image! (http://members.chello.se/solange/sigs/star_girl.jpg)

I can host it for you there if you want. Just make sure you have a copy on your computer, in case I change internet host some day... ;)

Thanks, Solange, but I myslef made it a bit blurry. I was actually confused about the size, turned out I had 3MB instead of 150 pixels (height). I am set with it, anyway. A major thanks to you.

Kwazak
26th Sep 2005, 12:31
Here is the most important information you need to write down on your left hand

2500 left handed people die each year wielding products specificly designed for the right handed, DON'T be one of them. Write with you right!

maniac44
26th Sep 2005, 16:36
2500 left handed people die each year wielding products specificly designed for the right handed, DON'T be one of them. Write with you right!

How would you write on your left hand with your left hand???? :confused: :confused:

ycdeo
26th Nov 2005, 09:34
those who want to learn sig making can just request.

its normally using photoshop. And u do need some skills in graphic editing.

and if u want to post links or still learning, i will be glad to help.

like this one
some sig just make the computer screen look more attractive.
www.eidosinteractive.com
www.eidosinteractive.com
www.eidosinteractive.com