PDA

View Full Version : [Map Balance] Valeholm

KrazeyXII
3rd Nov 2014, 19:03
Game experience reference: 100+ hours played, level 40, level 25 tyrant, level 25 alchemist

Side note: Please let us link our accounts to the forum and allow accounts to stay logged onto the forums longer, thanks.

Valeholm has been a problem since I started playing this game a few months ago. Most of the map is balanced fairly well. Locations like slums, market, residences, and ruins provide balanced gameplay for both humans and vampires. Why? These locations provide a healthy mixture of vision and obstacles that benefit and challenge both sides. There are multiple ways for vampires to approach each location as well as enough space and vision for humans to fend off vampires if they expose themselves. Each of these areas are reasonably approachable from at least three directions for the vampires which gives them a fair chance to harass and engage the humans.

One of the better (and easiest to explain) areas of the map is slums. In regards to humans they have these advantages:

Open space to spread out and avoid AoE
Four reasonably placed health stations
Good vision of their surroundings
Multiple escape routes (market, courtyard, and ruin exits)
Buildings to hide in and shoot from

The same area also allows vampires to approach the area with certain advantages.

Four angles of approach (courtyard, market, ruins, caved in ceiling of slums)
Multiple entry points from said angles of approach
Courtyard provides enough vision to track humans
Proper cover to hide approach as long as possible
Good cover to eat once a fight is completed (read: humans cannot spawn within line of sight to stop eats)