PDA

View Full Version : Attempting to stream to Twitch but not working

JollyRogue
30th Jul 2014, 03:35
I'm able to login to my Twitch account in-game, but basically when I click 'start stream', it does nothing. I've never streamed anything to Twitch, so I might just be a complete newbie, but I would like to stream my experience.

lucinvampire
30th Jul 2014, 10:27
I haven't tried Streaming myself yet so can't really give too much input - if you've followed the instructions mentioned in the blog post (http://www.nosgoth.com/blog/step-by-step-how-to-use-nosgoth-twitch-integration)then it maybe a bug. I'd maybe try next time you log on and see if it happens again - but hopefully someone who Streams will see this and be able to give you a bit of guidance.

Saikocat
30th Jul 2014, 13:46
Have you tried setting your bit rate manually?

JollyRogue
30th Jul 2014, 19:11
I have not- in fact, I'm not really sure what that means :P
I know there's a selection for bit rate, but I wasn't sure what exactly it did so I haven't messed with it.

cmstache
30th Jul 2014, 21:38
Bit rate is the amount of kb/sec you are dedicating to uploading the stream to twitch. The general rule that twitch gives is to assign approx 60-70% of your max upload rate (determined by your internet plan) to streaming bit rate.

For example, if I have a 20/2 connection to the internet (20mb/sec download, 2 mb/sec upload) I'd dedicate approximately 1200-1400kb/sec to the stream (your bit rate). This number may need adjusting though. I personally only give it about 55% of my max because I start seeing my ping go up some in game. The key to remember is that the more your bit rate is the better quality, but the less the rest of your computer(s) in your house has to use.

FireWorks_
31st Jul 2014, 09:46