PDA

View Full Version : Don't force localization on us!



turtlequack
18th Dec 2014, 20:47
Hi everyone,

I would suggest a possibility to change the language of the game in the steam library. I appreciate the option to have it in german, but after months of english gameplay I just want to have it back on english again.
If there is a option, I would like to know how to change it back to normal.

Thanks for your answer :-)

Phytik
18th Dec 2014, 20:50
Set Launch Options
-language=int

That is the answer of Corey. Maybe this helps you, weil ich daraus nicht schlau werde :D

*edit*
http://forums.eu.square-enix.com/showthread.php?t=149404&p=2092234#post2092234

hier die antwort

Varulven
18th Dec 2014, 20:55
Hey guys :)

I see you're now providing a german translation of the UI, but I have to say: It seems like they used google translator ;)

Now I want to offer some help with translation to fix some issues :D

Don't get me wrong, it isn't a joke!

:flowers:

Da_Wolv
18th Dec 2014, 20:57
Why do I get a german client?!

I never asked for this, especially not with that kind of terrible translations.

Varulven
18th Dec 2014, 20:59
Why do I get a german client?!

I never asked for this, especially not with that kind of terrible translations.

That's why I offer to help xD

Da_Wolv
18th Dec 2014, 21:02
I got a German client now... WHY?

Not only do I not want a German client,
I especially don't want a German client with terrible translations that even Google Translate could do better!

I mean, gems like:
"Wiederholer" for Repeater (makes no sense in German)
"Viskosekanone" for vicious Canon (not only do you generally not combine adjectives and nouns into composita, but the word "Viskos" is so uncommon for German you might as well make up a new word)
and other funny things like
"Beinfeger" and "Flinkbogen" that are technically not wrong, but just sound hilariously stupid compared to their english counterpart.

EDIT: Might I suggest "Flitzebogen" for Swiftbow? THAT would be truely funny and genuinely comical!

Anyway:
PLEASE HOTFIX SO WE CAN SET IT BACK TO ENGLISH!

Phytik
18th Dec 2014, 21:08
Were they really that terrible ? I kinda felt like they were good :D How do I get the english language back ?

Da_Wolv
18th Dec 2014, 21:10
Were they really that terrible ? I kinda felt like they were good :D How do I get the english language back ?

Currently you can't.
Thats why its so terrible

Phytik
18th Dec 2014, 21:11
There is.


Set Launch Options
-language=int


Nur daraus schlau werd ich nicht. Weiß jemand von euch mehr ?

*edit*
Weiß glaub ich jetzt wie, kurz checken

*edit 2*
Okay funktioniert.
Rechte Maustaste auf Nosgoth
Eigenschaften
Startoptionen festlegen
-language=int reinschreiben
Ok
Ist wieder auf Englisch

Varulven
18th Dec 2014, 21:14
And "Repetierer" for "Repeater" ....

Hyperspeed1000
18th Dec 2014, 21:17
yeah, agreed...i have the same problem i always prefere playing game in english and the german translation is freaking bad that i wonder if anyone who translated that stuff knew german at all...

Varulven
18th Dec 2014, 21:18
And pleeeaaassee let's stay with the original class names!!!

turtlequack
18th Dec 2014, 21:22
Funktioniert gut. Die Befehle für die erweiterten Startoptionen werden scheinbar immer mit nem "-" eingeleitet. "language" ist wohl klar und "int" könnte für international stehen. Zumindest meine Vermutung ;) Danke!

Da_Wolv
18th Dec 2014, 21:52
Trotzdem könnte das eine in-Game option sein und ich wüsste gern, wie die es schaffen, meinen ENGLISCHEN Steam account, auf dem nur ENGLISCHE Spiele sind, verbunden mit meinem ENGLISCHEN SE account, dazu bringen können, Nosgoth auf deutsch zu schalten!

Was machen die armen Erasmus studenten die kein deutsch können?

PhilFourFingers
24th Dec 2014, 20:12
Please add the option to select the language in the options, my game swithed to french since the last update even though my steam is set to english, probably because I use my girlfrends computer and she is french, And I have been having the hardest time with all the menus and ability names switched to a language that I can barely speak.

Rago600
27th Dec 2014, 06:49
And "Repetierer" for "Repeater" ....

Ich weiss nicht ob die Wortwahl gut ist, hast du mal mit nem Repetiergewehr geschossen, das ist doch keine Automatische Waffe ;)
ohne jetzt groß klugscheissen zuwollen, mir gefällt dieser Vorschlag nicht.

"Wiederhohler" is also as bad as Repetierer.
Pfeilwerfer - Boltthrower macht ja noch Sinn....

ANYWAY Translations are not that nice and there is this wrong translation on the Enemy Team, your Team Page on the end of the map, Ever Won 20 to 60 XD^^

Saikocat
27th Dec 2014, 10:45
For now it's possible to change back using the shortcut in the launch options, per Corey's post that was linked above.
An option to change the language is feedback I've passed on, it's not something you can do at the moment, but something we'll look into for the future.

Varulven
27th Dec 2014, 12:53
Ich weiss nicht ob die Wortwahl gut ist, hast du mal mit nem Repetiergewehr geschossen, das ist doch keine Automatische Waffe ;)
ohne jetzt groß klugscheissen zuwollen, mir gefällt dieser Vorschlag nicht.

"Wiederhohler" is also as bad as Repetierer.
Pfeilwerfer - Boltthrower macht ja noch Sinn....

ANYWAY Translations are not that nice and there is this wrong translation on the Enemy Team, your Team Page on the end of the map, Ever Won 20 to 60 XD^^

Repeater heißt jedoch auf deutsch 'Repetierer', das ist ein Faktum.

chriZor
27th Dec 2014, 13:27
Repeater heißt jedoch auf deutsch 'Repetierer', das ist ein Faktum.

na na na, kein Unwissen predigen. Repeater heißt nicht zu deutsch "Repetierer". Es ist Wiederholer/Verstärker. Im Fall von Waffen Mehrlader.
Repetierer ist aus dem Latein abgeleitet um die Funktion der Waffe zu verdeutlichen.
Selbst dieses latein.-Wort hat nur eine ähnliche Bedeutung zu "Wiederholer", aber Repetierer dient niemals, über 2 Ecke als im Sinn verwandtes Wort, für die Übersetzung.

english:
preach no ignorance. Repeater does not mean to german "Repetierer". It's Wiederholer(repeater)/amplifier. In the case of weapons "Mehrlader".
"Repetierer" is derived from the Latin to clarify the function of the weapon. Even this latin-word only has a similar meaning to "Repetierer" but never used "Repetierer" for the translation.

Varulven
27th Dec 2014, 14:32
na na na, kein Unwissen predigen. Repeater heißt nicht zu deutsch "Repetierer". Es ist Wiederholer/Verstärker. Im Fall von Waffen Mehrlader.
Repetierer ist aus dem Latein abgeleitet um die Funktion der Waffe zu verdeutlichen.
Selbst dieses latein.-Wort hat nur eine ähnliche Bedeutung zu "Wiederholer", aber Repetierer dient niemals, über 2 Ecke als im Sinn verwandtes Wort, für die Übersetzung.

english:
preach no ignorance. Repeater does not mean to german "Repetierer". It's Wiederholer(repeater)/amplifier. In the case of weapons "Mehrlader".
"Repetierer" is derived from the Latin to clarify the function of the weapon. Even this latin-word only has a similar meaning to "Repetierer" but never used "Repetierer" for the translation.

Nanana, werd mal nicht zum Möchtegern - Professor ;)
Wenn du mit der Übersetzung 'Wiederholer' klarkommst, schön für dich, aber ich kriege Autismus davon.

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Repetierwaffe

Holladiho ;)

Tante Edit(h): Mit der Übersetzung 'Repetierarmbrust' wäre ich überglücklich.

chriZor
27th Dec 2014, 14:45
Korrekt - und es zeigt nochmal das ein "Repetierer" nicht die direkte Übersetzung für diesen Repeater ist. (Wir reden hier von der Waffe)

Ich zitiere aus dem Wiki:
"Eine Repetierwaffe (auch kurz Repetierer) ist eine Schusswaffe, bei der die Munition über einen von Hand zu betätigenden Mechanismus aus einem Magazin in das Patronenlager nachgeladen wird. Das Wort „repetieren“ stammt vom lateinischen repetere, was so viel wie wiederholen bedeutet."

Um das ganze nochmal zu verdeutlichen hier 2 kurze Ausschnitte.
Hier einmal der Repeater:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oW8mluB7CXo&list=PL_wy3Wdzyiptn-W0OqXDag09SzCMLMZhz#t=256

und ein Repetierer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5TQ4r6SZ9U
oder auch:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LTFTohpErw


Ich hoffe wir müssen uns nicht darum streiten :wave:

Varulven
27th Dec 2014, 14:49
Ich hoffe wir müssen uns nicht darum streiten :wave:

Ob wir uns streiten oder nicht, liegt ganz an dir, ich kenn schließlich deine Meinung über mich ;)

Ich bleibe dabei, dass Repetierer eine annehmbare Übersetzung ist, wenngleich Repetierarmbrust wesentlich besser wäre.

FireWorks_
27th Dec 2014, 14:57
Korrekt - und es zeigt nochmal das ein "Repetierer" nicht die direkte Übersetzung für diesen Repeater ist. (Wir reden hier von der Waffe)

Ich zitiere aus dem Wiki:
"Eine Repetierwaffe (auch kurz Repetierer) ist eine Schusswaffe, bei der die Munition über einen von Hand zu betätigenden Mechanismus aus einem Magazin in das Patronenlager nachgeladen wird. Das Wort „repetieren“ stammt vom lateinischen repetere, was so viel wie wiederholen bedeutet."

Um das ganze nochmal zu verdeutlichen hier 2 kurze Ausschnitte.
Hier einmal der Repeater:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oW8mluB7CXo&list=PL_wy3Wdzyiptn-W0OqXDag09SzCMLMZhz#t=256

und ein Repetierer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5TQ4r6SZ9U
oder auch:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LTFTohpErw


Ich hoffe wir müssen uns nicht darum streiten :wave:

Der Knackpunkt an dem ganzen ist doch, dass der Repeater in Nosgoth fiktional ist. Eine echte Armbrust ist doch wohl sinngemäß sehr nahe an einem Repetierer. Pack auf beide den Nosgoth-Bonus und es passt. Der englische Repeater is ja eigentlich schon der "Fehler" im System. Interessiert aber eigentlich auch keinen... Macht doch bitte aus dem unsäglichen Wiederholer einfach den Repetierer und gut.

Varulven
27th Dec 2014, 15:00
Der Knackpunkt an dem ganzen ist doch, dass der Repeater in Nosgoth fiktional ist. Eine echte Armbrust ist doch wohl sinngemäß sehr nahe an einem Repetierer. Pack auf beide den Nosgoth-Bonus und es passt. Der englische Repeater is ja eigentlich schon der "Fehler" im System. Interessiert aber eigentlich auch keinen... Macht doch bitte aus dem unsäglichen Wiederholer einfach den Repetierer und gut.

Dankeschön! Und jetzt haben wir uns alle wieder dolle lieb! :group_hug:

Voxyld
28th Dec 2014, 11:13
The situaiton is the same for French people.
Backstab is translated (if you take it word per word) by "knife in the neck" wich sounds very stupid in french. (in this case every french person would understand backstab for this term is very common in games)
Other things like that and overall not only the translation looks like google translate, but it sounds very stupid for some weapons.
swiftbow is translated in french as "swift bow" (agains if you translate word per word) but the french word for "swift" is not used that much among young people, especially to describe an object so it sounds very odd =s
The original english language is much more fitting for now ^^