PDA

View Full Version : A more realistic Silent Assassin system

FootFetish4Life
12th Aug 2014, 04:24
Okay, I just started playing Contracts again, from start to finish, taking in the story and cutscenes, and attempting to get Silent Assassin on every level, Blood Money and Silent Assassin, too, concurrently.

Contracts is just a lot more fun this way. Before I would just kill anyone that got in my way, now i"m playing to a standard. I just feel more like a professional assassin; no witnesses, minimal collateral damage, putting 47's signature on every hit.

However, I think Blood Money was developed with a different mindset. Some of the levels in Blood Money just feel better accomplished below the Silent Assassin rating. Curtains Down, for example, the opera sissy is shot to death by a gun that 47 planted, then you drop a light rig on the next target after luring him to the murder scene. It just seemed so unplausible and unrealistic, whereas in real life 47 would've probably picked off Ambassador Delahunt with a sniper rifle.

That's my complaint about the Silent Assassin rating. It feels more like a video game achievement than actually fitting into the story of 47.

Also, there are just too many restrictions for Silent Assassin. Part of what intrigues me about Hitman, at the risk of sounding sick, is the dark serial killer aspect of 47. Now, in Blood Money you can't even kill anyone.

A bone I have to pick with Contracts is that every kill must be done with the fiber wire, a limit for sniper rifles. Why can't I use my silverballer silenced? I'm sure 47 can scrape the barrel to remove any identifications.

I think in H6, the Silent Assassin mode should be more fun and fit into the context of 47 and the story.

Thoughts?

AdrianShephard
12th Aug 2014, 05:59
Firstly, you are allowed to use guns in Contracts to get the SA rating. Look that up.