PDA

View Full Version : Is Bloodmoney 2 possible with Glacier 2 Engine?

mcescher1
13th Jul 2014, 16:59
Personally, i am not a programmer and i don't claim to understand the in's and outs of programming games or engines..

but i do know that IOI is using a different engine for the next hitman, the same one they used for absolution, but a different one that they used for bloodmoney and the rest of the installments.

my question is: is it even possible to make a game using a different engine that replicates bloodmoney??

can anyone explain the difference between the 2 engines used (absolution and bloodmoney) in laymans terms?

AdrianShephard
13th Jul 2014, 17:34
Personally, i am not a programmer and i don't claim to understand the in's and outs of programming games or engines..

but i do know that IOI is using a different engine for the next hitman, the same one they used for absolution, but a different one that they used for bloodmoney and the rest of the installments.

my question is: is it even possible to make a game using a different engine that replicates bloodmoney??

can anyone explain the difference between the 2 engines used (absolution and bloodmoney) in laymans terms?

It should be possible, especially since the Glacier engine is developed by IO themselves rather than using a modified version of some other company's engine, say, Unreal Engine 3. Just look at the GTA games...Rockstar makes a new engine for each new game in the series and the end product is not only bigger with better graphics, but also the AI, physics (although the physics could come from other middleware), and draw distances are better than the predecessors.

I'm not sure of the exact differences between the Glacier 1 and 2 but I'm guessing other than the obvious changes (graphics, and of course, BLOOM galore!), there aren't that many since the AI seems more stupid than the previous games and there isn't much else in a Hitman game. Just graphics, AI, and some physics. Simple yet so hard.