PDA

View Full Version : FPS too low



vagadiwo
1st Mar 2014, 12:58
I have the following specs:

- OS windows 8 x64
- CPU AMD A10-5800K
- RAM 8 GB
- GPU Radeon HD7790 with latest AMD driver

At any graphics level with any resolution max. FPS = 25.

Log:

14:34:53:917 (4796) > THIEF (64-bit)
14:34:54:044 (4796) > ==============
14:34:54:077 (4796) >
14:34:54:155 (4796) >
14:34:54:230 (4796) > Memory statistics:
14:34:54:262 (4796) > Total RAM = 7.9 GB (8139 MB)
14:34:54:283 (4796) > Avail RAM = 4.3 GB (4421 MB)
14:34:54:303 (4796) > Total virtual memory = 8192.0 GB (8388607 MB)
14:34:54:324 (4796) > Avail virtual memory = 8191.8 GB (8388389 MB)
14:34:54:344 (4796) > OS = Windows 8 (build 9200)
14:34:54:400 (4796) > [Render] NxApp PreInit
14:34:54:440 (4796) > [Render] Enumerating adapters:
14:34:54:484 (4796) > [Render] Adapter 0:
14:34:54:517 (4796) > Description : AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
14:34:54:548 (4796) > Vendor : AMD (1002)
14:34:54:582 (4796) > Device : 665c
14:34:54:602 (4796) > Sub system : 29301462
14:34:54:622 (4796) > Revision : 0
14:34:54:643 (4796) > Dedicated Video Memory : 1002 MB
14:34:54:663 (4796) > Dedicated System Memory : 0000 MB
14:34:54:684 (4796) > Shared System Memory : 3813 MB
14:34:54:704 (4796) >
14:34:54:725 (4796) > [Render] Loading ADL...
14:34:54:788 (4796) > [Render] CROSSFIRE GPU count query failed, no multi-gpu optimizations.
14:34:54:895 (4796) > [Render] Done loading ADL and AGS
14:34:54:919 (4796) > [Render] Adapter 1:
14:34:54:943 (4796) > Description : Microsoft Basic Render Driver
14:34:54:975 (4796) > Vendor : Unknown (1414)
14:34:55:007 (4796) > Device : 8c
14:34:55:028 (4796) > Sub system : 0
14:34:55:049 (4796) > Revision : 0
14:34:55:070 (4796) > Dedicated Video Memory : 0000 MB
14:34:55:089 (4796) > Dedicated System Memory : 0000 MB
14:34:55:110 (4796) > Shared System Memory : 0256 MB
14:34:55:131 (4796) >
14:34:55:151 (4796) > [Render] Enumerating monitors:
14:34:55:172 (4796) > [Render] Monitor 0: handle = 0000000000010001, aspect = 1.57
14:34:55:192 (4796) >
14:34:55:228 (4796) > [Render] AMD HD3D Extension created.
14:34:55:241 (4796) > [Render] AMD HD3D Extension Version: 8.0

14:34:55:262 (4796) > [Render] AMD HD3D failed to initialize. (Most likely cause: there is no 3D support)
14:34:55:274 (4796) > [Render] AMD HD3D: Released Quad Buffer Stereo Extension.
14:34:55:327 (4796) > [Render] Enumerating Display Modes:
14:34:55:366 (4796) > [Render] Querying ADL for Eyefinity modes
14:34:55:390 (4796) > [Render] Monitor 'Display 1 (AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series(1))' (0000000000010001):
14:34:55:426 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 0 : 640 x 480 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:447 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 1 : 640 x 480 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:459 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 2 : 640 x 480 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:479 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 3 : 720 x 480 @ 56 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:492 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 4 : 720 x 480 @ 56 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:512 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 5 : 720 x 480 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:525 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 6 : 720 x 480 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:544 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 7 : 720 x 480 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:565 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 8 : 720 x 480 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:586 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 9 : 720 x 480 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:606 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 10 : 720 x 480 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:627 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 11 : 720 x 576 @ 56 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:647 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 12 : 720 x 576 @ 56 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:668 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 13 : 720 x 576 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:688 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 14 : 720 x 576 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:708 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 15 : 720 x 576 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:729 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 16 : 720 x 576 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:749 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 17 : 720 x 576 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:761 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 18 : 720 x 576 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:773 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 19 : 800 x 600 @ 56 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:794 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 20 : 800 x 600 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:806 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 21 : 800 x 600 @ 72 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:850 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 22 : 800 x 600 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:888 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 23 : 1024 x 768 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:912 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 24 : 1024 x 768 @ 70 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:944 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 25 : 1024 x 768 @ 75 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:55:969 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 26 : 1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:001 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 27 : 1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:022 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 28 : 1280 x 768 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:042 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 29 : 1280 x 768 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:062 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 30 : 1280 x 800 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:083 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 31 : 1280 x 800 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:104 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 32 : 1280 x 960 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:124 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 33 : 1280 x 960 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:157 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 34 : 1280 x 1024 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:181 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 35 : 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:213 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 36 : 1440 x 900 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:246 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 37 : 1440 x 900 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:279 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 38 : 1600 x 900 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:299 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 39 : 1600 x 900 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:358 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 40 : 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:385 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 41 : 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:406 (4796) > [Render] - Mode 42 : 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz, stereo = 0
14:34:56:427 (4796) >
14:35:18:381 (4796) > [audio] TrueAudio unavailable
14:35:18:433 (4796) > [audio] Convolution Reverb Option = SOFTWARE
14:35:18:696 (3616) > [Render] AMD HD3D Extension created.
14:35:18:734 (3616) > [Render] AMD HD3D Extension Version: 8.0

14:35:18:759 (3616) > [Render] AMD HD3D failed to initialize. (Most likely cause: there is no 3D support)
14:35:18:780 (3616) > [Render] AMD HD3D: Released Quad Buffer Stereo Extension.
14:35:18:851 (4796) > [Render] Initializing NxRenderer
14:35:18:866 (4796) > [Render] NxApp successfully created
14:35:46:620 (4796) > [audio] Convolution Reverb Option = SOFTWARE
14:35:57:774 (4796) > [Benchmark]: Benchmark started.
14:36:02:872 (3616) > [Benchmark]: Benchmark delay expired; starting statistics capture.
14:36:15:409 (4796) > [Benchmark]: Benchmark stopped.

stuartthompson
2nd Mar 2014, 02:23
Have you tried the AMD Catalyst 14.2 Beta driver?
It claims to address some known Crossfire profile issues with Thief.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx

From the release notes:
Feature Highlights of The AMD Catalyst™ 14.2 Beta V1.3 Driver for Windows®

Thief: Crossfire Profile update and performance improvements for single GPU configurations


Hope that helps.

Also, I would recommend disabling Parallax Occlusion and SSAA then testing the difference in frame rate. It made a big difference for me to turn those off.

vagadiwo
2nd Mar 2014, 12:07
30 FPS with fullhd resolution and very low graphics. Thanks for help but it still unplayable.

NixxesSoftware
2nd Mar 2014, 12:22
Hi,

I'm sorry to hear you are not geting the performance you had expected. Your bottleneck is probably the AMD A10-5800k CPU, which is not a very powerful CPU. It sounds like you are hitting a similar framerate as the next-gen consoles are getting.

Another bottleneck you may see is your GPU memory, it looks like it is 1GB, which is fairly limited and may require you to run at lower resolutions and certainly lower quality textures.

frumpy
3rd Mar 2014, 00:37
Hi,
Your bottleneck is probably the AMD A10-5800k CPU, which is not a very powerful CPU.

Sure, it is. His bottleneck is a poorly optimized game.



Another bottleneck you may see is your GPU memory, it looks like it is 1GB, which is fairly limited.
Not really. I mean, it's enough to play other next-gen intended games fine.

Even on the lowest settings with the lowest resolution, Thief still stutters and has performance issues.

Mik James
3rd Mar 2014, 01:05
Read the essential tweaks thread.
With an amd athlon ii x2 my frames went from unplayable and choppy to mostly smooth after launching the 32 bit version of Thief instead of the 64.

sirtaff
3rd Mar 2014, 10:52
Hi,

I'm sorry to hear you are not geting the performance you had expected. Your bottleneck is probably the AMD A10-5800k CPU, which is not a very powerful CPU. It sounds like you are hitting a similar framerate as the next-gen consoles are getting.

Another bottleneck you may see is your GPU memory, it looks like it is 1GB, which is fairly limited and may require you to run at lower resolutions and certainly lower quality textures.


Sure, it is. His bottleneck is a poorly optimized game.


Not really. I mean, it's enough to play other next-gen intended games fine.

Even on the lowest settings with the lowest resolution, Thief still stutters and has performance issues.


To nixxes and frumpy...

I am slowy starting to think there's something wrong with the 64bit binary, please don't give me the bottleneck excuse, this guy is running a slightly better GPU and CPU than me

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-930-vs-AMD-A10-5800K
http://gpuboss.com/gpus/Radeon-HD-7790-vs-Radeon-HD-5970

and yet I can get reasonably good performance at times, please watch this video as hardware bottlenecking between GPU and CPU is largely a non-issue:

DAgpvWc4VBM

I am honestly starting to think this game is capable of impressive performance on 3-4 year old hardware... BUT, is being held back buy some kind of bug in the game's software. I am not convinced this is entirely a hardware problem.

I take the point about the GPU "only" having 1GB, HOWEVER, there are plenty of people with 2-3 and 4GB of memory on very modern GPUs with frame drops down to 5fps???? I repeat, this IS NOT a 100% hardware problem, there is something wrong with the thief software

vagadiwo
3rd Mar 2014, 17:44
Hi! Beta drivers +10 FPS and it gives hope for future updates.

Targa
3rd Mar 2014, 19:30
I found a trick that worked for me (originally posted in the Steam user forums). Browse to your game folder and go to Binaries folder. Rename Win64 folder to Win64_old or whatever. Right-click the Win32 folder, select Copy. Right-click empty space in Explorer and select Paste. You should now have a Win32 folder and a Win32 - Copy folder. Rename the Win32 - Copy folder to Win64. Now launch the game as normal. This fixed all the framerate issues I was having.

vagadiwo
3rd Mar 2014, 21:00
I found a trick that worked for me (originally posted in the Steam user forums). Browse to your game folder and go to Binaries folder. Rename Win64 folder to Win64_old or whatever. Right-click the Win32 folder, select Copy. Right-click empty space in Explorer and select Paste. You should now have a Win32 folder and a Win32 - Copy folder. Rename the Win32 - Copy folder to Win64. Now launch the game as normal. This fixed all the framerate issues I was having.

After this trick: min = 14fps, mid = 29, max = 49 with ultralow and full hd. Im play BF3 on high graphics with 50 FPS. And the game still gets choppy.

MikeakaJB
4th Mar 2014, 00:58
I love how an A10 is considered a bottle neck.

Benchmark
Very high preset at 3240x1920 - min : 7.7 fps max 72.5 ave 50.0 - Ran from a 24 gb ram disk leaving 8 gbs left of ram
Very high preset at 3240x1920 but with all options unchecked - min 14.4 max 83.1 ave 52.2
Very low preset at 640x480 - min 13 fps max 144.9 average 72.2 - Also ran from a ramdisk
Very low preset at 640x480 but with all the options checked - min 9.3 fps max 163.2 ave. 73.1

I5 - 3570k 3.4 ghz/ 3.8 ghzboost - gtx 780 sli 2 way - 1600 mhz 32 gb ram (24 as a ramdisk and 8 available), mb is pcie 3.0 at 8x for each lane

I'd be interested in hearing what my bottleneck / problem is. Yes I have done the whole switch the game to 32 bit vs 64 bit and found no difference.

I should also state that my gpus don't hit even 70% usage with a max temp of 72 C on one and 67 C on the other. I've also overclocked my cpu to 4.3 ghz which does nothing for framerate as well.