PDA

View Full Version : Patch for Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1



NixxesSoftware
27th Feb 2014, 21:45
Hello everyone,

We have just made public a new version of the PC version of Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1. This patch will be applied by Steam automatically when you next start the game. If your game does not update, please restart the Steam client.
This patch will address the following issues

- Fix for a crash after loading a new game or benchmark, often seen on Intel GPU hardware.
- Fix for DOF issue when peeking through keyholes.
- Fix for stereoscopic 3D inconsistencies in option menus. Forces VSync to be ON and Triple Buffering to be OFF.
- Fix for a bug where “Invert mouse X/Y” would not be saved.
- Minor UI improvements.
- Optimized memory usage.

While we expect this patch to be an improvement for everyone, if you do have trouble with this patch and prefer to stay on the old version we made a Beta available on Steam, v1.0 build 4107.3, that can be used to switch back to the previous version

Step 1: Go to your STEAM library and select Thief in your game list
Step 2: right-click on the game and go to properties
Step 3: go to the Betas tab in the properties menu
Step 4: select version 1.0 and press ok.

This will set you back to the original released version of the game.
We will keep monitoring for feedback and will release further patches as it seems required. We always welcome your feedback!

marshb63
27th Feb 2014, 22:09
Thank you for the update! Looking forward to further support. You guys rock!

Zednaught
27th Feb 2014, 23:06
I appreciate your quick attention to these issues, but I would like to bring to your attention the many users who cannot even load the game at all. After clicking play, the screen goes blank and stays that way until the program closes. No amount of updating/rolling back drivers, changing page file settings, certainly verifying the game cache has worked. Out of almost 200 Steam games, this is the first time this has happened.

While I may be selfish, I think that an issue that makes your game completely inaccessible ought to be the highest priority.

wokingpanda
27th Feb 2014, 23:13
The patch was nice but the game still would exit right after the load is finish. It just gives a small glimpse of the cutscence

CalinTM
27th Feb 2014, 23:18
Devs: Heard the game sucks too much VRAM, lower the vram usage, and some stutters can go away.

Also, the devs from bioshock infinite had stutters with their game too, and they managed to fix them. So its fixable.

Meesterjojo
28th Feb 2014, 00:22
So EIDOS still isn't addressing the multitude of SOUND ISSUES for both PCs and consoles?

Wow. Literally the first page of this forum had half a dozen SOUND ISSUE complaints on the first day.

euro3er
28th Feb 2014, 01:32
Where's the console patch? Right now console users are having loads of problems as well and some people can't even play the game due to bugs.

dante077
28th Feb 2014, 02:09
please you can make something about the low FPS

nimbulan
28th Feb 2014, 03:29
It seems this patch is caused a drop in performance along with a significant increase in stuttering for a lot of people, though the memory usage is very much improved. My average fps only dropped by 2 in the benchmark but I am getting a lot more stuttering and others are more greatly affected.

jorimt
28th Feb 2014, 03:33
This new patch broke SSAA for me. When SSAA is set to low or high it seems to conflict with Ambient Occlusion, creating a washed out effect in the shadowed areas. Turning SSAA off solves it.

To confirm this, I rolled back to the original version of the game on Steam, and this issue wasn't present.

hyperzzzz
28th Feb 2014, 04:17
At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

I just can't play the damn game. :mad2:

Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?

jorimt
28th Feb 2014, 04:39
At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

I just can't play the damn game. :mad2:

Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?

In the Betas tab, there should be a drop down menu directly below the "Select the beta you would like to opt into:" line. Select "version_1.0 -"

It should then start downloading the roll back patch.

Hope you get it working ;)

Olivir2013
28th Feb 2014, 05:32
At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

Is that the plank with three parts, of which the middle one is a bit longer and you happen to try to jump from there? I know I couldn't and manage to jump the gap from the LEFT part of the plank, which is considerebly shorter. WTF.

Old Fox
28th Feb 2014, 06:21
At the very beginning, following Erin, and I can't jump the gap. Nothing lets me. The training mission. Wow.

I have no sound, stutter, graphics or any other issues. *NVidia 660* helps.

I just can't play the damn game. :mad2:

Oh, and you instructions for rolling back the game after the patch - useless. I right click Thief and go to properties and beta, only to be told there aren't any and I need a code to unlock personal betas...?

You have to jump it while running. It won't let you jump in walk mode. Hope this helps.

Azurium
28th Feb 2014, 10:44
I appreciate your quick attention to these issues, but I would like to bring to your attention the many users who cannot even load the game at all. After clicking play, the screen goes blank and stays that way until the program closes. No amount of updating/rolling back drivers, changing page file settings, certainly verifying the game cache has worked. Out of almost 200 Steam games, this is the first time this has happened.

While I may be selfish, I think that an issue that makes your game completely inaccessible ought to be the highest priority.

TOTALY AGREE ... guys i cant even start the game ... really ... im formo europe .. was waiting for hte game the all week while everyone was plaing it in other continents and in the end the game dosent even start ... LOL ... massive bad start eidos REALLY .. pls stop going wome sleaping and just work until you finish with all majar bugs ... redbull time guys for real

B4Marc
28th Feb 2014, 12:13
It seems this patch is caused a drop in performance along with a significant increase in stuttering for a lot of people, though the memory usage is very much improved. My average fps only dropped by 2 in the benchmark but I am getting a lot more stuttering and others are more greatly affected.

Same for me as soon as the save is loaded the character (Garrett) is getting sluggish :(



Operating System
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 955 45 °C
Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM
12.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 669MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A88T-V EVO/USB3 (AM3) 31 °C
Graphics
BenQ V2400Eco„ (1920x1080@60Hz)
Generic Non-PnP Monitor (1280x1024@60Hz)
2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series (XFX Pine Group) 69 °C
Storage
111GB Seagate ST3120026AS ATA Device (SATA) 40 °C
149GB Seagate ST3160815AS ATA Device (SATA) 34 °C
279GB Maxtor 6V300F0 ATA Device (SATA) 32 °C
931GB Western Digital WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 ATA Device (SATA) 40 °C
2794GB Seagate ST3000DM001-1CH166 ATA Device (SATA) 31 °C
14GB Kingston DT 101 G2 USB Device (USB)
3GB Dataram, Inc. RAMDiskVE (RAM Disk)
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H55N ATA Device
Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

Kevinf63
28th Feb 2014, 22:32
I'd just liked to say, I'm having no real big issues, even when NOT using the AMD beta drivers. There is occasional frame drop in certain areas of the Stonemarket district, hard to pinpoint it as I don't know the layout that well yet (1 hour of playing pretty much), apart from the fact its an alley with two civilian AI wandering back and forth on it.

i5 2500k 4.4Ghz
R9 290 (stock)
GA-Z77X-UD3H
Sitting on a SSD
Using 13.12 Drivers (I prefer stable ones)

B4Marc
28th Feb 2014, 22:55
Yep, no more problems, everything's running fine @ the best quality :)

I think they (the devs) sent a micro-patch through Steam, 'cause I cannot explain the sudden repair :scratch:

Anyhow, I'm happy to return hiding :cool:

Chrisy2100
28th Feb 2014, 23:50
HELLO? DONT YOU THINK IT WILL DAMN WELL HELP IF YOU PUT THE SIZE OF THE DAMN PATCH AS WELL IN? OMFG



Hello everyone,

We have just made public a new version of the PC version of Thief, v1.1 build 4110.1. This patch will be applied by Steam automatically when you next start the game. If your game does not update, please restart the Steam client.
This patch will address the following issues

- Fix for a crash after loading a new game or benchmark, often seen on Intel GPU hardware.
- Fix for DOF issue when peeking through keyholes.
- Fix for stereoscopic 3D inconsistencies in option menus. Forces VSync to be ON and Triple Buffering to be OFF.
- Fix for a bug where “Invert mouse X/Y” would not be saved.
- Minor UI improvements.
- Optimized memory usage.

While we expect this patch to be an improvement for everyone, if you do have trouble with this patch and prefer to stay on the old version we made a Beta available on Steam, v1.0 build 4107.3, that can be used to switch back to the previous version

Step 1: Go to your STEAM library and select Thief in your game list
Step 2: right-click on the game and go to properties
Step 3: go to the Betas tab in the properties menu
Step 4: select version 1.0 and press ok.

This will set you back to the original released version of the game.
We will keep monitoring for feedback and will release further patches as it seems required. We always welcome your feedback!

Chrisy2100
28th Feb 2014, 23:51
Does anyone get the same problem on XBOX ONE with the game in a loop as you try to go to chapter 2??

Chrisy2100
28th Feb 2014, 23:54
I am seriously taking this game back today.. I need a damn answer
this is my thread that still not even a mod has replied to :@

http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?p=1990581#post1990581

please help.. IS THERE ANY BODY OUT THERE?

Chrisy2100
28th Feb 2014, 23:55
meh I don't care.. im getting a refund screw it

Warriant12
1st Mar 2014, 00:06
This fixed most of the crashing for me but i still get it occasionally, as well as an odd object tearing where things mainly npcs stetch all over the place and ssao causes a washed out effect alot of the time, as well as stuttering problems in some places