PDA

View Full Version : Game crashes upon completing wait bar after starting a new game.



michaelv
24th Feb 2014, 21:48
Hi Support,

Yes. First to report problem for a PC.

When I start a new game, the screen will shift to one show a bar at the bottom show the progress of loading. Upon completion it crashes to desktop.

I've tried all kinds of resolution, lowest 800x600 to 1280x768. Turned display to "lowest".
Tried starting the app in adminstrator mode. As this was downloaded by steam, I'm not sure if all the various engines that most games require was installed correctly.

Here is the theif.log file.. I don't know how to attach the dmp file here.
Please help. First time ordering a game via steam download.

Regards,

Michael

05:32:24:311 (7848) > THIEF (64-bit)
05:32:24:389 (7848) > ==============
05:32:24:408 (7848) >
05:32:24:429 (7848) >
05:32:24:449 (7848) > Memory statistics:
05:32:24:479 (7848) > Total RAM = 7.7 GB (7885 MB)
05:32:24:499 (7848) > Avail RAM = 2.9 GB (2934 MB)
05:32:24:520 (7848) > Total virtual memory = 8192.0 GB (8388607 MB)
05:32:24:540 (7848) > Avail virtual memory = 8191.8 GB (8388359 MB)
05:32:24:561 (7848) > OS = Windows 7 (build 7601)
05:32:24:631 (7848) > [audio] TrueAudio unavailable
05:32:24:661 (7848) > [audio] Convolution Reverb Option = SOFTWARE
05:32:25:207 (7848) > [Render] Initializing NxRenderer
05:32:25:237 (7848) > [Render] NxApp successfully created
05:32:26:452 (7848) > [Render] Applying display settings
05:32:26:524 (9132) > [Settings] New display settings are:
05:32:26:546 (9132) > [Settings] Using Mantle:0
05:32:26:566 (9132) > [Settings] Window mode:
05:32:26:587 (9132) > [Settings] Fullscreen:1
05:32:26:607 (9132) > [Settings] Excl.Fullscreen:1
05:32:26:637 (9132) > [Settings] Monitor:0
05:32:26:656 (9132) > [Settings] Monitor Rect: x:0 y:0 w:1920 h:1080
05:32:26:677 (9132) > [Settings] Workspace Rect: x:0 y:0 w:1920 h:1040
05:32:26:697 (9132) > [Settings] Aspect Ratio:1.776903 (Pixel Aspect Ratio:1.000492)
05:32:26:727 (9132) > [Settings] Fullscreen display mode:
05:32:26:747 (9132) > [Settings] Display mode: 800x600@60
05:32:26:768 (9132) > [Settings] VSync:0, TripleBuffer:0
05:32:26:788 (9132) > [Settings] Stereoscopic3D:0
05:32:26:809 (9132) > [Settings] Window settings:
05:32:26:837 (9132) > [Settings] Window rect: x:240 y:135 w:1440 h:810
05:32:26:859 (9132) > [Settings] User window: w:1440 h:810
05:32:26:879 (9132) > [Settings] Window maximized:0
05:32:26:900 (9132) > [Settings] Graphics Options:
05:32:26:920 (9132) > [Settings] TextureQuality:2, ShadowQuality:0, TextureFiltering:0
05:32:26:941 (9132) > [Settings] SSR:0, DOFQuality:0, POM:0, SSAA:0, FXAA:0, CHS:0, Tess:0
05:32:26:969 (9132) > [Settings] FOVCorrection:0.000000
05:32:26:990 (9132) > [Settings] StereoSeparation:0.099000
05:32:27:010 (9132) > [Settings] StereoPlaneDepth:0.099000
05:32:27:031 (9132) > [Settings] End of settings.
05:32:27:051 (7848) > [Render] Finished applying display settings
05:33:06:156 (7848) > [audio] Convolution Reverb Option = SOFTWARE

NixxesSoftware
25th Feb 2014, 10:58
Hello Michael,

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing problems with the game. Could you provide the specifications of your system (CPU & GPU)? Also, what is the model type of your system?

If you haven’t done so already, you can attempt verifying the integrity of your game files to see if that resolves your problem.
- Go to your steam window.
- Right click on Thief in your games library.
- Select properties.
- Go to the tab ‘Local Files’.
- Select ‘Verify integrity of game cache’.

wokingpanda
25th Feb 2014, 13:34
The problem still persist even after verifying. It just says everything is running perfectly

michaelv
25th Feb 2014, 14:16
Hi,

Yup the game cache is validated.

I'm running a i5-3570k @3.40Ghz on a MSI Z77 type motherboard.
with 8G of ram.

It has a HD4000 that supports directx 10/11

Windows 7 64bit. Graphic drivers are the latest from Intel.
No overclocking or special tweaking.

I was able to run Blackflag okay. so not a problem with drivers or really bad performance.

Windows events (system,application,security,setup) logs don't show any application errors.

Tried both AV on and off. No difference. Closed all visible applications to allow as much available memory to the game.

My opinion, it ran the benchmark at about 18fps not great but not sure what resolution the benchmark was running at. However, various game company logs showed so the videos show correctly. Since it crashed at the start of the game, probably some 3d library is not properly setup and failed to call.

I have uploaded the dmp file in dropbox. Here's the URL to it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4xaqzc5sgf90lqi/Thief64_4107_2014.02.25-21.56.41.dmp

Hope it helps you figure out whats wrong.

Regards,

Michael