PDA

View Full Version : THOUGHTS FROM A LEGALLY BLIND GAMER

Mangajedi
20th Aug 2011, 08:51
I have to admit I did not know what Deus Ex was at first until I saw Human Revolution announced.

I'm a graphic designer and artist and I'm legally blind. I'm a hardcore gamer as well. I just wanted to say the game looks amazing in art style and that alone had gotten me interested. Secondly, the choice/consequence atmosphere of the game really stood out to the games of old where you had to find your own solutions to problems in the game.

Third, the story struck a personal note with me. Being legally blind- (I have R.O.P. since birth and there is no cure as of yet.) It basically means i'm SEVERELY near-sighted. I have never been able to see like the rest of the human population and wonder what it would be like. I always wanted to be a soldier, cop, or anything like that and my eyesight sadly limits me on careers somewhat. I AM however very proud that I am an artist and graphic designer. I did some wallpapers too when this game came out that I'm proud of as well. Sometimes I even wonder if having good eyesight would change me from how I feel and understand things WITH my disability. Not literally change me, but make my attitude different.

What if getting a pair of cybernetic eyes (something along the lines of what chonclir implants are for deaf people.) could make someone's life easier? It just made me think about it a lot and it's been a while since a game has made me really ponder or contemplate something such as humanity. Which- if you guys are fans- you'll remember the other games doing the same thing.

ANYWAY- sorry for the long post, but I just wanted to say this game struck a chord with me in every way and I think THIS is a perfect example of what some games have lost in the industry and need to redeem.

The team has done an amazing job and I congratulate all of them on the great reviews I know this game will get.