PDA

View Full Version : DX:HR "SAVES" - All Discussion



gunslinger690
9th Aug 2011, 16:40
*Moderator Edit*

Summary of Q&As


The game uses steamcloud so all your saves are stored locally and synced up to the cloud when you exit out. If you log into your account on another pc you get your saves immediately...

PC has 99 save slots






___


Will there be auto saves or save anywere on the pc version. I hate auto saves :mad2:

KommissarK
9th Aug 2011, 16:55
Pretty sure its been stated on one of the feeds that on PC you can save anywhere. There is a quick save function. Also, the game does have auto save/checkpoints I believe. Not sure why you'd be horribly against those though unless you're that nit picky about hard drive space.

Charadesmith
9th Aug 2011, 16:58
There's no "checkpoints" but the game does save automatically at certain points; you can quick save whenever you want though.

Piflik
9th Aug 2011, 18:22
You can save anywhere, even on console.

Dr_Bob
9th Aug 2011, 18:54
You have autosaves, manual saves and one quicksave slot.

gunslinger690
9th Aug 2011, 20:07
Pretty sure its been stated on one of the feeds that on PC you can save anywhere. There is a quick save function. Also, the game does have auto save/checkpoints I believe. Not sure why you'd be horribly against those though unless you're that nit picky about hard drive space.
No, 2 reasons. 1st I work and have a wife which sometimes demands immediate attention & not as soon as I kill this guy (lol). 2nd and even bigger is that replaying one section over & over again is sortta not that much fun. And having been stuck with auto save in the past with pc games that SHOULD HAVE KNOW BETTER If the game has auto save only its gotta be one ***ing hell of a game to even get me to consider it. :scratch: :hmm:

alanschu
9th Aug 2011, 22:18
I find it depends.

I prefer manual save anywhere, but I can understand why a game like Alpha Protocol implemented it. It's unfortunate that they felt they had to implement it though, but I have learned that people aren't really so keen on the idea of consequences in their game, but rather varying degrees of success.

Val Frost
22nd Aug 2011, 06:16
I'm going to be sharing DX:HR with a roommate, and I'm really hoping I wont have to manually transfer saved games back and forth in windows explorer...

Does anyone (maybe who played the leak) have any info on whether the game supports something like this? It would be good for people in general who want to have different playthrough's going simultaneously.

Mosillivo
22nd Aug 2011, 06:51
For a long time now, games have been using window's built in "user profiles" to separate saved games and settings.
If you want to manage 2 players, simply create another user account and the game (if run from that user) will handle the rest.

GhostRider51
22nd Aug 2011, 06:56
Well said Mosillivo! :rasp:

Cerulean Shaman
22nd Aug 2011, 07:13
I don't know, that's pretty darn tedious. You'd have to log on either user account simply for a savegame change? How about, you know, what games have been doing for even longer: savegames? As in I save a game to a specified location? Games like Dragon Age are even smart enough to do it by character; at the very least I expect to be able to save to multiple locations.

pha
22nd Aug 2011, 10:19
Steamcloud?

musicrab
22nd Aug 2011, 13:52
Steamcloud?

I don't think this will help the 2 guys who want to share 1 copy of the game;)

Didn't realise that consoles had "save anywhere". And there was me thinking that the PC quick save/load was specifically developed for PC. Wonder how long quick loads will take? We'll find out soon enough...

jaywalker2309
22nd Aug 2011, 14:40
The game uses steamcloud so all your saves are stored locally and synced up to the cloud when you exit out. If you log into your account on another pc you get your saves immediately..

Cerulean Shaman
22nd Aug 2011, 15:14
The game uses steamcloud so all your saves are stored locally and synced up to the cloud when you exit out. If you log into your account on another pc you get your saves immediately..

But you can still have multiple self chosen saves, ja? I guess I'll find out in a few hours.

jaywalker2309
22nd Aug 2011, 15:17
But you can still have multiple self chosen saves, ja? I guess I'll find out in a few hours.

yeh you have an autosave slot, which the game updates, a separate quick save slot, and then the manual slots you control and if you want just overwrite the 1 save all the time,

Cerulean Shaman
22nd Aug 2011, 15:35
yeh you have an autosave slot, which the game updates, a separate quick save slot, and then the manual slots you control and if you want just overwrite the 1 save all the time,

Actually, I wanted multiple save files in case my house mates wanted to hop on and try the game. One of Square's previous titles, Front Mission Evolved, didn't quite work like that and a friend of mine ended up making me a sad panda by mistake...

Anyway, thanks for the info! I'm happy to hear that.

jaywalker2309
22nd Aug 2011, 15:40
Actually, I wanted multiple save files in case my house mates wanted to hop on and try the game. One of Square's previous titles, Front Mission Evolved, didn't quite work like that and a friend of mine ended up making me a sad panda by mistake...

Anyway, thanks for the info! I'm happy to hear that.

The save slots are numbered, so if you tell ya mate to only use slot 2 etc..

Dr_Bob
22nd Aug 2011, 15:54
The save slots are numbered, so if you tell ya mate to only use slot 2 etc..

Would you know if there is still a cap on how many saves you can have?

musicrab
22nd Aug 2011, 16:15
Bugger -long load times - "the loading times punish you. On our none-too-shabby PC, they clocked up 20 to 30 seconds; running off disc on 360, we sometimes sat there waiting for just under a minute." (From Edge review)

jaywalker2309
22nd Aug 2011, 16:24
Would you know if there is still a cap on how many saves you can have?

Hm i not sure if theres a cap on pc, i think console has a cap ..

update - PC has 99 save slots.. enough? :)

Dr_Bob
22nd Aug 2011, 17:01
Hm i not sure if theres a cap on pc, i think console has a cap ..

update - PC has 99 save slots.. enough? :)

Oh yes! Most certainly...

pha
22nd Aug 2011, 19:32
PC has 99 save slots.. enough? :)

FFS PREORDER CANCELED :mad2:

Seriously though, I don't think I'll ever fill those 99 slots as long as there is quick save and quick load, but it still beats me why there has to be such a limit.

musicrab
22nd Aug 2011, 20:22
FFS PREORDER CANCELED :mad2:

Seriously though, I don't think I'll ever fill those 99 slots as long as there is quick save and quick load, but it still beats me why there has to be such a limit.I feel sorry for this guy. Cancelled because of 99 save slots?

jaywalker2309
22nd Aug 2011, 20:49
I feel sorry for this guy. Cancelled because of 99 save slots?

i did wonder that :)

Ashpolt
22nd Aug 2011, 23:26
Can you name the saves on PC? I know you couldn't in the leak, but that seems like the kind of thing that could be added pretty late on. All of my saves in the original Deus Ex are "hilariously" named, but also it lets me remember what I was doing at any given point.

Cerulean Shaman
23rd Aug 2011, 00:19
Numbered saves works just fine for me! Reminds me of the good 'ol days. Happy happy~ Now to stare at my clock for the next couple hours..