PDA

View Full Version : Impressions about the New Tomb Raider...

shingouki
7th Jun 2011, 13:36
Hello everyone, this is my first time on the forum and this is also my first time caring about a Tomb Raider game! I played Tomb Raider 1 and 2 when I was really young, and played the demos of some of the later games...and I always got stuck lol. The puzzles were too hard so I kind of gave up and brushed the series aside. Now that the new Tomb Raider is coming out...I'm extremely intrigued.

I watched E3 yesterday with some specific games that I was looking forward to watching: Skyrim, Uncharted, Final Fantasy...etc. But the thing that surprised me most was this game. The new Tomb Raider really blew my mind away...It looks and feels so real, and it makes me feel like a part of what's going on. The atmosphere from the graphics is really good, especially the little details like the blood on her clothes and skin, and the ash from falling debris.

But what really did it for me is the atmosphere that Lara creates as she explores the atmosphere. She talks to herself, limps realistically and trips and stumbles due to the pain. Normally you'd expect when a video game character gets hurt, they always just "walk it off" lol. But I could really feel the pain as she explored and connected me with the character. Especially when she talked to herself too, it was really nice when she walked past hitting the noise chimes and went "Oh...that was loud..." Little stuff like that is too huge!