PDA

View Full Version : Deus Ex Screenplay Research

dtgreen
5th Oct 2010, 12:11
Hello Folks,

Haven't been this excited about a game for a long time, cannot wait until HR is released; a nice birthday present considering the fact I turn 30 in January. ;)

I'm an indie filmmaker setting out to write a feature length script, more as an exercise to see if I've got the chops to see the full process through more than anything, but with an eye to having something viable to shoot in the future.

Over the last few weeks I've been going through the Deus Ex plot and the original game script with a fine tooth comb, and I'm looking to write a script that is an adaptation of the story from the original game, and what we know about the early stages of the DX: HR story.

There are a couple of guidelines that I've set myself for the screenplay:

Suitable for low budget filmmaking (Not a Hollywood budget!)
Set within the UK and Europe (due to cost of filming in the U.S)
Closer to the present day i.e. not 2052

I've already made a number of decisions in relation to what can and cannot be in the story, for example, if I'm going to keep a character based around Tracer Tong, he won't be based in Hong Kong and the Triad sub-plot will likely be dispensed with. The basics of the grey death virus, UNATCO, terrorist factions etc will be intact for the most part.

I could use feedback to help me shape the overall setting/plot. A few questions to get you thinking:

What do you feel are the most important aspects of the main Deus Ex story that you would want to see translated to the screen?

What aspects of the story do you feel are mandatory and must be preserved?

What aspects of the story do you not care about and wouldn't make you grumble if you experience the story on the big screen?

Can J.C's troubled transformation from UNCATO agent to terrorist fugitive still be achieved without the augmentation technology, and the whole 'we created you' sub-plot?