PDA

View Full Version : So Just Cause 2 is supposed to be enhanced for Quad Cores huh? Yeah, right.



w 1 z
24th Mar 2010, 00:32
Then explain to me why I have to set Just Cause 2 to only run under CPU 1 to avoid having random freezes that happen only minutes later when I'm playing?

The first 30 mins of the game started out fine then I got the part where you had to destroy the SAM's. "Good you've picked up some explo-FREEZE" is about as far as I can get.

System specs:

Intel i7 Q720 @ 1.6 ghz
Nvidia GeForce GT 230m
6 gb DDR3 RAM

I should have no problem whatsoever playing this game with those specs. I was able to play the demo on almost max settings without a stupid freezing problem and I could use all of my cores whilst playing.

The drivers on my GPU are up to date as of December 17th, 2009. NVidia has not come out with new drivers for it since then.

Sure, I can just play the game under CPU 1 but what is the point if you have a quad core processor and are playing a game that is SUPPOSED to be "enhanced" for quad cores?

I want an answer please.

Enteku
24th Mar 2010, 04:14
More than likely your video card. My computer is only a dual core with 3GB RAM, but, I have a good video card..
My specs:
Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40GHz
3 GB RAM
1GB ATI Radeon HD 4670 DDR3

And I can run the game maxed graphics with just a little less FPS around combat and explosions, and excessive bouncing around at high speeds. <_< Lol. In other words, don't go blaming the game. Your computer might be new and still have good specs, but that doesn't mean much. My specs are lower than yours, other than the video card [did a comparison]. Might not make sense with all of your issues, but for the 'quad core' enhancement issue, I'm guessing it may have something to do with it. So don't be rude toward the creators with your 'yeah right'. Not their fault.

Smithno13
24th Mar 2010, 04:34
Did you upgrade to the latest nvidia driver that they posted in that topic?
Downgrade.
It has bugs.

jaywalker2309
24th Mar 2010, 08:37
nVidia has released drivers since December

Actually, released 2 sets of drivers, but due to a fan control issue they recalled the VERY latest (however THESE had JC2 in mind)..

http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/win7_winvista_32bit_196.21_whql_uk.html <- current latest drivers. but new drivers coming soon which i can only suggest you get asap.

Console
28th Mar 2010, 09:04
nVidia has released drivers since December

Actually, released 2 sets of drivers, but due to a fan control issue they recalled the VERY latest (however THESE had JC2 in mind)..

http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/win7_winvista_32bit_196.21_whql_uk.html <- current latest drivers. but new drivers coming soon which i can only suggest you get asap.

What you have posted is the drivers for the desktop version of the nvidia GT 230. However what the original poster (and me want) is the driver for GTX 230m (theres a m). Which i presume the system is a laptop with a 1.6ghz i7 processor. Thanks :D

brain_stew
28th Mar 2010, 09:08
Laptop video drivers here:

http://laptopvideo2go.com/drivers

The game is incredibly well optimised for multi core CPUs. Don't go disabling CPU cores.

Console
28th Mar 2010, 09:20
:D Thanks brain_stew. I've been looking for the drivers all over the Nvidia Support site. Funny how the beta releases are posted on http://laptopvideo2go.com/ before the actual official website.

JustKawzTew
28th Mar 2010, 12:00
The game uses all four cores on my CPU just fine. They aren't each at the exact same utilization but still, it's using them all.