PDA

View Full Version : Great PC, awful performance.



makinbacon2544
14th Mar 2010, 06:57
I have a, by today's standards, very good PC.
Specs:

2.00GHz Core 2 Quad
6g RAM
GeForce 9800M GS
1920x1200 res

I can run Crysis at med-high settings very smoothly, I can max out almost every other game, but for JC2, I get awful framerates. I'm talking like, with mid-low settings, I get as low as 5 FPS for cutscenes and 10 FPS in game. All other applications closed, drivers updated, the works.

What is going on here? Am I missing something?

MoothyKnight
14th Mar 2010, 07:14
The recommended graphics card is a GTS 250 or above so...

Laomedon
14th Mar 2010, 08:33
Similar problem here (http://forums.eidosgames.com/showpost.php?p=1309876&postcount=28). :mad2:

ManScuz
14th Mar 2010, 14:46
I can run Crysis at med-high settings very smoothly, I can max out almost every other game, but for JC2, I get awful framerates. I'm talking like, with mid-low settings, I get as low as 5 FPS for cutscenes and 10 FPS in game. All other applications closed, drivers updated, the works.

What is going on here? Am I missing something?

Just some friendly advice.

Drop the res down to 1600x900, run in windowed mode, with shadows on low , high res shadows off, and ssao off and it will run much better.

Lowering the resolution will help quite a bit. Sucks, but running at that high res, your card is struggling.

my specs:
Quad Core
3gig ram (4 really, but vista32 is program limited) grrr
9600 gtx
vista 32

I run it at 1600x900 with 4xaa, 4xaf, med shadows, med ssao, and no high res shadows and it runs at a very playable frame rate...averaging anywhere from 28-39 fps.

Daworm
15th Mar 2010, 01:43
My specs running the game mid-high.

Core 2 Duo 2GHZ
4GB Ram
8800GTS 320MB

1680x1050 - I get the occasional hiccup when spinning too quick and there's a lot of action on screen. Otherwise goes smooth!

BLaZiNgSPEED
15th Mar 2010, 02:56
I don't have this problem.
Using Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4890 OC card and a Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz. I am running everything high at 1920x1200 resolution very smoothly.

Also running latest Battlefield Bad Company 2 very smoothly. There's no reason why you should experience poorer performance with JC2 considering the fact that its not as heavy system hungry like Crysis.:hmm:

longboardskier
15th Mar 2010, 04:53
My specs running the game mid-high.

Core 2 Duo 2GHZ
4GB Ram
8800GTS 320MB

1680x1050 - I get the occasional hiccup when spinning too quick and there's a lot of action on screen. Otherwise goes smooth!

I have almost the same specs. Mines a 2.4Ghz C2D and the 8800GTS 640 with 4GB ram and I also play at 1680x1050. It plays very smooth on mid-high also. I haven't noticed any hiccups on mine though!

CloudWolf
15th Mar 2010, 13:00
@ blazing speed, i too have a OC 4890, running at 1080p everything at highest and constantly get 60-70fps, oh how ATI are SOOO much better than NVIDIA :D

XXX1
15th Mar 2010, 13:00
cmon people you forget time before Xbox360? where 1 year old hardware was slow? and after 2 years total junk for games? G8800/9800M and 9600GT M are not great cards any more.

its better when its look nicer and run slower than looks ugly and run fast. (you can always buy new graphic card but game never will looks better after developers are done with it)

on HD4870x2 and cheap quadcore (phenom II x4 940BE) its run great. and i like game.

XXX1
15th Mar 2010, 13:29
I have a, by today's standards, very good PC.
Specs:

2.00GHz Core 2 Quad
6g RAM
GeForce 9800M GS
1920x1200 res

What is going on here? Am I missing something?

2Ghz for games are low no matter if dual, quad or hexa core, 9800 GS but mobile version, if im correct mobile versions run always on lower clock speed than desktop cards and resolution 1920x1200 is high and need lots of power to run smooth, try lowering resolution to 1280x768 if you dont like blurred screen try if 1:1 mode if is available if not you can run in windowed mode (if JC2 in windowed dont suffer some performance issues like Crysis).

next possibility is that slow (2Ghz) CPU can kill graphic card performace.

i recommend in laptops (notebooks) for games around 2.4-2.5Ghz on CPU


Daworm
G8800 320 MB problem probably are 320MB if you say you have hiccup its propably for inferior memory size if user with 512-640MB dont have issue.
Try lowering textures details and view distance

Just cause 2 is open world game so its normal that needs lots of memory on graphic card for all textures, terrain layers and objects

AMDFreak
22nd Mar 2010, 01:15
AMD Phenom II quad 3.4ghz
6 gig DDR3 1600
XFX ATI Radeon 4890 XXX edition
WD velociraptor 1TB SATA HDD

I can run the demo with everything maxed at 1680x1050 at an average FPS of 92

your machine OP is just underpowered for this game.

ZombieSkydiver
23rd Mar 2010, 13:18
I have a, by today's standards, very good PC.
Specs:

2.00GHz Core 2 Quad
6g RAM
GeForce 9800M GS
1920x1200 res

I can run Crysis at med-high settings very smoothly, I can max out almost every other game, but for JC2, I get awful framerates. I'm talking like, with mid-low settings, I get as low as 5 FPS for cutscenes and 10 FPS in game. All other applications closed, drivers updated, the works.

What is going on here? Am I missing something?
well that is strange, as Crysis at med-high settings is tough on any video card lower than a 4890 or GTX260 for good framerates, at least to some extent. Do you have SSAO turned on? If so, disable it, as that will push your framerate down lots on older cards.

You say all your applications are closed, but are any of them still running processes? Nero used to run like 8 processes even when you didn't have it running, as an example. Have you installed anything recently that could have messed something up or be interfering somehow?

What OS do you have? If you have Vista like me, read some tweak guides for it and start turning off the massive amount of unnecessary services that run on it.

Good luck to you, hope you get it running better.

Smithno13
23rd Mar 2010, 13:45
Nvidia drivers have to be updated, or it will run slow, because of the Nvidia specific graphic options.
However, the drivers had a bug and had to be taken down/
So performance will suck until they give us the drivers back.