PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading PC help



Big Isy
13th Mar 2010, 09:42
SO my 360 died and I figured I'd rather spend money on doing the PC up, if it's realistic that is. Bear in mind I'm relatively new to this!

Current Specs
Dell C521
AMD Athlon 64 x2 dual core 4200+ (2.2GHz, I assume this would be 4.4 since its dual core?)
3GB DDR2 RAM
radeon X1300pro 256mb
130GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate OS.

I'm guessing the graphics card has to go :lol:
Beyond that though, does the CPU need changing too? I'd rather keep the cost as low as possible so if the game'll run on the current cpu then its fine. Also, the case is tiny meaning any gfx card I do get must be low-Profile/half-height.

Cheers folks, appreciate the help. :thumb:

Eidos Support
13th Mar 2010, 12:16
Your processor is the lowest possible to hit the minimum requirements so it will run it at least. Your graphics card is below the requirements and would need upgraded, that is certain. I can't offer any preferences between ATI and nVidia cards, both have their pros and cons. If you upgrade the graphics card but not the processor, I would say to not go crazy with your graphics card spend as you wont get the full effect of it if the rest of the hardware isn't up to spec. It's not an entirely foolproof saying but your PC can only go as fast as it's slowest parts. You will also have to make sure your power supply can handle any new hardware. Check what your motherboard is and see what it's upper limit is on CPU support, you might be able to upgrade just the CPU without having to replace motherboard and memory at the same time which will keep costs down. :)

Just Cause 2 System Requirements :http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?p=1298003

Helegad
13th Mar 2010, 14:02
Your GPU sucks. It won't run any recent games, even on the very lowest settings. Twas a good card back in the day, but no more.

Big Isy
13th Mar 2010, 14:57
Yeah I figured pretty much straight away it's the GPU that definitely has to go. Problem is really if the CPU is going to be throttling whatever new card I do get. The only info I could get on the motherboard is that it's DELL lol. Seriously, that's all it says on the system profile list.

Big Isy
15th Mar 2010, 17:16
ALright an update! So I decided tto get rid of the Wii and use it's money on the PC. First up is GPU, I was thinking 9600gt? I hear they actually run fine in C521's with the stock PSU (280W), Plenty of people online posted how it works superbly. Is it a good card for JC2?

As for CPU, would going quad core be advisable given that it's a C521? Dell have a knack for being difficult to upgrade.

anddiiss
15th Mar 2010, 19:52
No 9600GT wont be enough, then take at least 9800GT, it should run fine, but remember you also need a good cpu, something from quad series :) but faster core 2 duo couldn't`t be bad aswell.

My specs
Core2Duo E5200@2.82ghz
2048 MB of ram
9800GT

Runs excellent on low/med 70-100 fps
Runs average on med/high 30-50
Runs awfull on maxed at about 25-30 fps

CloudWolf
15th Mar 2010, 20:13
get ati 5750, SUCH good value and dx 11 :D

Big Isy
15th Mar 2010, 21:11
5750? I don't think that's available as a low profile card. 98oo gt looks good but I'll need a new PSU as well. Plus you're running a slightly more powerful CPU than I am.

genaga
15th Mar 2010, 23:14
Half height ones make it harder, plus the psu has to be powerful enough, and you case has to be big enough etc.

Big Isy
15th Mar 2010, 23:55
Definitely. Turns out the 5750 is actually perfect for my PC. It's also pretty cheap :D
CPU is adequate enough for now. Might upgrade to the Athlon 64 6000+ which I hear runs fine with AM2 socket motherboards.

SuperMassiveBlackHole
22nd Mar 2010, 19:17
I've already posted a thread on the main forum but I think you guys might have more experience. Im getting a new computer soon with the following specs:

AMD Phenom 945 (3 GHz)
8GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM
ATI Radeon 5850 1GB
500GB SATA Hard Drive
650W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Can I run the game on highest settings (with no lag obviously!)

CloudWolf
22nd Mar 2010, 20:38
glad you picked the 5750, you won't regret it :D

AMDFreak
22nd Mar 2010, 21:37
I've already posted a thread on the main forum but I think you guys might have more experience. Im getting a new computer soon with the following specs:

AMD Phenom 945 (3 GHz)
8GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM
ATI Radeon 5850 1GB
500GB SATA Hard Drive
650W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Can I run the game on highest settings (with no lag obviously!)

looks pretty good... only thing ram looks kinda slow. shoot for some DDR3 1300 at least.

Datashocker
22nd Mar 2010, 21:59
only thing ram looks kinda slow. shoot for some DDR3 1300 at least.

I have to disagree, there is next to no performance gain in games using DDR3. I clocked down my ram (Which by default runs at 1600Mhz) down to 800Mhz, and there was less than 1 FPS drop in Crysis, which has very high resolution textures, stressing the RAM alot. Just stick with 800Mhz. It's cheaper and there is almost no difference in performance
.

FlyD4wn
22nd Mar 2010, 22:20
I have to disagree, there is next to no performance gain in games using DDR3. I clocked down my ram (Which by default runs at 1600Mhz) down to 800Mhz, and there was less than 1 FPS drop in Crysis, which has very high resolution textures, stressing the RAM alot. Just stick with 800Mhz. It's cheaper and there is almost no difference in performance
.
Agreed.

cha0s
22nd Mar 2010, 22:30
I've already posted a thread on the main forum but I think you guys might have more experience. Im getting a new computer soon with the following specs:

AMD Phenom 945 (3 GHz)
8GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM
ATI Radeon 5850 1GB
500GB SATA Hard Drive
650W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Can I run the game on highest settings (with no lag obviously!)

If you are buying new then you should really go with the AM3 option as you will be able to upgrade in the future to 6 core processors and the like without having to buy a new mobo and RAM.
However as of right now if its within your budget a Core i5 build would be a better choice as it offers better performance.

Datashocker
22nd Mar 2010, 22:42
If you are buying new then you should really go with the AM3 option as you will be able to upgrade in the future to 6 core processors and the like without having to buy a new mobo and RAM.
However as of right now if its within your budget a Core i5 build would be a better choice as it offers better performance.


That is an AM3 processor. A very good one as well, I might add.

cha0s
22nd Mar 2010, 22:51
That is an AM3 processor. A very good one as well, I might add.

But with an AM2+ mobo and ddr2 ram...

Datashocker
22nd Mar 2010, 23:00
I must have missed the place where he stated what mobo he was getting.

SuperMassiveBlackHole
23rd Mar 2010, 20:02
I didn't actually (random assumption). I agree with you guys on the RAM front and anyway, 8GB is a lot of RAM even if you dont have DDR3!

Big Isy
23rd Mar 2010, 20:11
glad you picked the 5750, you won't regret it :D

FFFFFFF******!!!!! The card isn't low profile. :mad2:
The only other decent quuality low profile card is the 9600gt but it's currently unavailable in the UK, save for the Zotac one which isn't all that hot.

The 4650 is the only remaining option but despite power consumption being considerably lower than the 9600gt, C521 owners are complaining of it dying pretty sharpish. I don't have the money to change out both the PSU and GPU so it's all on hold for now. :(