PDA

View Full Version : TTLG down again!



Stingm
1st Dec 2009, 23:45
The new provider and server was supposed to solve this but I guess not. I hope they are not down long as I need my fix..lol Anyone with information on the situation is appreciated!

theBlackman
2nd Dec 2009, 00:32
It is working now.

Stingm
2nd Dec 2009, 00:36
Yea thanks....I'm on the way!

Stingm
17th Jan 2010, 18:44
Well ttlg.com is down once again. I am beginning to wonder if the new provider is really worth it. Anyone know whats going on?

BrokenArts
17th Jan 2010, 21:23
http://212.227.54.9/forums/showthread.php?p=1954885#post1954885


Try that. Save that IP for later, until this can be resolved, that link takes you directly to whats going on.

jtr7
17th Jan 2010, 22:12
Thanks, BA.

Stingm
18th Jan 2010, 04:42
Thanks for the link! I'm on my way again..lol Hope they get this fixed soon.

yubetcha
18th Jan 2010, 13:25
Didn't TTLG receive money last year from ppl so that this wouldn't happen? Or was that a different site?

BrokenArts
19th Jan 2010, 18:28
Yes, they did move the site. He is relying on his own DNS servers, and he's doing his own hosting. Thats where the problems are, the link to the thread I gave, David the admin explains it all.

Old Gold
20th Jan 2010, 18:53
Its good to see TTLG back up. :)

ffox
1st Feb 2010, 15:58
Seems to be down again - I can't get it via URL or by IP.

Stingm
1st Feb 2010, 16:32
Ditto here! This is happening way to much. It is going down just as much if not more than before. The only difference I can tell is the outages are a bit shorter. Hope its up soon!

R_Soul
1st Feb 2010, 17:30
When it comes back at least one person will start a thread asking if the forum just went down, and if anyone else had trouble accessing it. I don't know why they do it, but someone always does.

BrokenArts
1st Feb 2010, 18:05
Drives me nutz when they do that. Their name should be Captain Obvious, we need to get David to change their name. The link I provided not too long ago still works.

ffox
1st Feb 2010, 20:07
It seems a bit different this time - previously I could get in by IP alone (http://212.227.54.9/) but this time need to aim at a post or thread eg

http://212.227.54.9/forums/showthread.php?p=1954885

I wonder why?

jtr7
1st Feb 2010, 20:24
David might be tweaking the new forum style.

Stingm
1st Feb 2010, 20:33
Well I got in but its real slow. better than nothing though! :o)

jtr7
1st Feb 2010, 20:37
I don't know if it has anything to do with it but a lot of html code was severed with the vBulletin upgrade.

Namdrol
1st Feb 2010, 21:08
Yes I can get in on the thread pointing
But it's only giving me the mobile view and there are 4 of us in there!!

jtr7
1st Feb 2010, 21:25
18 total, 7 members, 11 guests, but of course, it changes.

theBlackman
1st Feb 2010, 23:09
I can't get in with any link. BA's or the Thread/reply that Ffox posted. IE no go and Firefox tells me this:

Namdrol
1st Feb 2010, 23:13
Try this tBm, it works for me

http://212.227.54.9/forums/forum.php


Edit: Any joy?

BrokenArts
1st Feb 2010, 23:29
Works for me.

jtr7
1st Feb 2010, 23:31
It works, and doesn't work, back and forth, for me--no consistency--so I just check on it after awhile to see if it's really back up.

Namdrol
1st Feb 2010, 23:36
I bookmarked it when BrokenArts posted it up a few weeks ago.

(And this happens just when my B'day thread was gonna break all records :rolleyes:)

jonescrusher
2nd Feb 2010, 00:29
Darn it I have been trying most of the evening......I want my,I want my,I want my TTLG!!...

wait that sounds like a dire straits song....

I will now self destruct in T minus 9 seconds.......

Namdrol
2nd Feb 2010, 00:35
It seems to be up and running fine now

jtr7
28th Feb 2010, 11:05
It has begun! As per David's Announcement on TTLG last week:

Well, we've been on our Fancy New Server for a year now, so we'll be moving the FNS to a host in the US for ease of payment and because we've found a pretty rockin' deal which will save us about seventy bucks a month on what we're currently paying. It is a lower spec, but I think it'll be sufficient. If it turns out that it's not, we can upgrade the specs of the various components without a penalty charge, which is nice. The host is the US version of the host we're currently with, and I've absolutely no complaints about the service we've received in the past year.

This does, of course, mean there will be some downtime, however we are hoping it will be as minimal as possible as we'll have both servers active for a period of time.

The downtime should be as long as it takes to transfer the forum database from one server to the other and it get it imported onto the new server's database. A few hours at most.

This will all occur within the next week, as that's about as much time as we have left on our current FNS before the next billing cycle.

Thanks!

So, hang in there, and expect the usual bumps and glitches as TTLG is relocated to its new server for 2010. :)

Stingm
5th Mar 2010, 00:44
Well I guess it started as I can't access the page again. Hope there done soon as I need my ttlg fix.

Neb
5th Mar 2010, 15:35
I was wondering what was going on. I can log in and read everything, but my account seems to have been deactivated.

Nightwalker
5th Mar 2010, 20:17
What exactly do you mean by "deactivated"? If you can log on, then that can't be the case. If you're having problems sending PMs or something, PM me here with the details and I'll pass them on to David to see if he can rectify the situation. They DID however, just move the server or something (tech stuff and I don't mix) so just in case you happened to try it at the exact wrong moment, you might want to go back and check it out again first.

Stingm
5th Mar 2010, 23:58
Its still down for me. Whats going on? Did the link change?

R_Soul
6th Mar 2010, 20:20
The site is now on a new server, so the IP address has changed. Perhaps your computer, via your ISP, is using a DNS server which doesn't know the new IP address.

I think the most you can do is clear your cache or just wait for things to sort themselves out. You should also be able to access the site via the IP address, but 74.208.213.90 (posted by David on ttlg) doesn't work for me, which is odd, since I can get to the site via the address.

I could explain those terms and acronyms, but I don't know if you already know of any of them.

Peter_Smith
6th Mar 2010, 20:39
It worked for me, yesterday and today, using the normal name URL:

http://www.ttlg.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=65