PDA

View Full Version : Getting the game to work on an ATI card



Hybridchild
30th Sep 2009, 18:24
Ok folks got this today but after installing, patching and starting a game it crashes at the end of the intro.

Now I've looked around the forums for tips and found out I'd need to enable AA in CCC so I done that and it made no difference, I've made sure Physx is off, I've tried using different setting, disconnecting my second monitor, disabling CrossFireX even disconnecting the second 4850. All other games are working including other Nvidia optimised ones. Heat and power are not issues so I'm stuck any ideas or have do i just have to hope its patched to work better on non Nvidia systems?

Here's my system details

CPU: Phenom x4 9950 @3Ghz
RAM: 6GB Corsair 6400
GPU: 2x ATI 4850 512mb
PSU: Corsair 850w
HDD: Samsung 750GB 7200rpm 32MB

And here's the error report

Product
BmGame

Problem
Stopped working

Date
30/09/2009 19:11

Status
Not Reported

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: ShippingPC-BmGame.exe
Application Version: 1.0.1.0
Application Timestamp: 4a8bab8b
Fault Module Name: ShippingPC-BmGame.exe
Fault Module Version: 1.0.1.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4a8bab8b
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 01732e32
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.256.1
Locale ID: 6153
Additional Information 1: fd00
Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Additional Information 3: fd00
Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160

Files that help describe the problem
Version.txt
AppCompat.txt
memory.hdmp
minidump.mdmp

cyborg34572
30th Sep 2009, 18:37
dont patch the game.

i have an ati hd4870x2

1.0 version of the game works fine no crashes nothing.

but onetime GFWL wont let me sign in unless i patched the game to 1.1
so i was forced to patch it,
and aftter patching the game , everytime i tried to run it , it would give me that "stopped working " error.
and after that i would get this

http://i35.tinypic.com/2rnznlv.jpg

dunno what it means but that patch made my game unplayable.

so i just simply reinstalled my game and this time created an offline account
and didnt patch it at all.
games working great now.

Hybridchild
30th Sep 2009, 18:42
Well done Edios.

Is there any other solution? I assume if I play offline I can't play the DLC, get achievements or get on the leaderboards?

EDIT: Ok i tried playing without the patch and i'm having the same problem, any ideas?

Inzane
30th Sep 2009, 21:49
whats your os

Hybridchild
1st Oct 2009, 08:26
Vista Ultimate 64

lostsomething
1st Oct 2009, 15:38
This is basic stuff but have you tried changing your video driver? Uninstalling > defragging > and reinstalling the game?

We've got plenty of people running the game on Ati cards, I don't think there's a special trick to it.

Hybridchild
1st Oct 2009, 20:31
This is basic stuff but have you tried changing your video driver? Uninstalling > defragging > and reinstalling the game?

We've got plenty of people running the game on Ati cards, I don't think there's a special trick to it.

Tried the drivers. I just checked though and my auto defragger hasn't run since march, dont know what disabled it. I'll do it and let you know what happens.

Marcus
2nd Oct 2009, 10:59
Dxdiag?

Also, check that your current resolution matches what your video card claims is maximum resolution.

Hybridchild
2nd Oct 2009, 20:25
Dxdiag?

Shows no errors.



Also, check that your current resolution matches what your video card claims is maximum resolution.

Done.

I've given up for now. My new drive will arrive next week so im going to try in on a clean install when it arrives.

Thanks for the help though.

Hybridchild
6th Oct 2009, 18:03
Got it to work on a fresh Windows 7 install.

The sound is messed up in the cut scenes but im guessing thats a Win7 driver issue.

Smashman
6th Oct 2009, 18:09
Are you using Steam?
Steam always caused my game to crash?
Restart and don't run Steam if possible.
If you bought it from Steam, make a desktop shortcut and then open the game via the Shortcut and DO NOT open the 'My Games' window.

Hybridchild
6th Oct 2009, 18:32
I hate Steam. Its the retail version. I don't mind dual booting for gaming used to do it when I ran Linux.